2011 NASCAR Chase for the Sprint Cup Field Has Been Set – Tony Stewart, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Denny Hamlin Clinch Berths at Richmond

September 10, 2011 No Comments


On a night filled with separate agendas and a plethora of ways the final three spots could occupied after Richmond, the Chase for the Sprint Cup field has been set.

The top eight spots as well as Brad Keselowski in 11th were locked heading into Saturday night’s race, with Tony Stewart in ninth and Dale Earnhardt Jr. in 10th, both not locked in. Denny Hamlin occupied the last wild card spot with his lone win in 2011, also not locked in.

400 laps, 300 miles and several demolished cars later, nothing had changed.

Tony Stewart locked himself into the Chase with an eighth place finish while Dale Earnhardt Jr. overcame adversity and heavy damage suffered early in the race to finish 16th, locking himself in the Chase as well.

With Kevin Harvick winning, Denny Hamlin will join Brad Keselowski as the two drivers with the wild card spots.

Here is your 2011 Chase for the Sprint Cup field and how many points they will enter with:

Kyle Busch – 2012 points
Kevin Harvick – 2012 points
Jeff Gordon – 2009 points
Matt Kenseth – 2006 points
Carl Edwards – 2003 points
Jimmie Johnson – 2003 points
Kurt Busch – 2003 points
Ryan Newman – 2003 points
Tony Stewart – 2000 points
Dale Earnhardt Jr. – 2000 points
Brad Keselowski – 2000 points
Denny Hamlin – 2000 points

Who will take home this trophy after the 10 races in the 2011 Chase for the Sprint Cup?

Mike Stobe/Getty Images

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.