Atlanta Motor Speedway: AdvoCare 500 Statistical Advance

August 31, 2011 No Comments

Atlanta Motor Speedway Data

Track Size: 1.54 miles
Race Length: 325 laps/500.5 miles
· Banking/Corners: 24 degrees
· Banking/Straights: 5 degrees
· Frontstretch: 2,332 feet
· Backstretch: 1,800 feet


· Originally called Atlanta International Raceway, the track was then a 1.5-mile paved speedway.
· The first NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Atlanta was on July 31, 1960, won by Fireball Roberts from the pole.
· The track was re-measured to 1.522 miles in the spring of 1970.
· It was renamed Atlanta Motor Speedway in 1990.
· The track layout was reversed and the track was re-configured to 1.54 miles between the two races in 1997.
· There have been 103 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Atlanta Speedway, two races per year except 1961, which had three. This year marks the first season with only one.
· Fireball Roberts won the pole and race for the first NASCAR Sprint Cup race in 1960.
· 45 drivers have won a pole, led by Buddy Baker and Ryan Newman, each with seven.
· Six of Newman’s seven poles came in consecutive races between March 2003 and October 2005.
· 14 races have been won from the pole. The last to do so was Kasey Kahne in 2006. Both races last season were won from the second starting position.

Driver Rating at Atlanta

Jimmie Johnson 110.1
Tony Stewart 102.3
Carl Edwards 101.2
Jeff Gordon 100.2
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 96.9
Kurt Busch 95.6
Denny Hamlin 94.7
Matt Kenseth 94.5
Greg Biffle 93.7
Kasey Kahne 93.1

Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2010 races (12 total) at Atlanta.

Qualifying/Race Data

2010 pole winner: Denny Hamlin (187.38 mph, 29.587 seconds)
2010 race winner: Tony Stewart (129.041 mph)
Track qualifying record: Geoffrey Bodine (197.478 mph, 28.074 seconds)
Race record: Dale Earnhardt (163.633 mph)

Statistical Advance

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.