Atlanta Motor Speedway: NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Atlanta 200 Preview – Entry List

September 2, 2011 No Comments

John Harrelson/Getty Images


Date: Friday, September 2nd
Time: 8:00 PM ET
Where: Atlanta Motor Speedway
Track: 1.54-mile oval
Laps: 130 ; Miles: 200.2
TV: SPEED Channel
Radio: Motor Racing Network/Sirius XM NASCAR


Start Time Temperature: 86° F
High: 95° F; Low: 69° F
Chance of Rain: 10%

Courtesy of


Defending Pole-Winner: Ron Hornaday
Defending Race-Winner: Kevin Harvick (Not Defending)

Qualifying Record: Rick Crawford (182.735 mph)
Race record: Ron Hornaday Jr. (142.424 mph)


Kevin Harvick’s streak of three consecutive truck wins will come to a hault this weekend at Atlanta as he gives up his ride to cup teammate Clint Bowyer. Bowyer will pilot the No. 2 KHI Chevrolet, which currently sits atop the owners championship standings by 34 points over Kyle Busch’s No. 18 Toyota. Ryan Newman will join Busch and Bowyer as the Cup regulars in Friday night’s truck race.

Ryan Newman will return to NASCAR Camping World Truck Series for the first time since 2009 Atlanta to honor the life of his friend, Beau Slocumb. Newman joins forces with Turner Motorsports this weekend to honor Slocumb, who passed away from cancer last spring at the age of 26. All of the money received from the NCWTS event will be donated to Slocumb’s widow, Jessica, to assist with medical expenses.

Johnny Sauter’s second place finish at Bristol keeps him on top of the NCWTS point’s standings. Sauter currently holds a seven point lead over James Buescher. Timothy Peters is currently third, 15 points out. Austin Dillon (-29) and rookie Cole Whitt (-42) round out the top five.

Peters has more career starts at Atlanta than any other driver in the top-five with four and also has the best career finish at the 1.5 mile oval – seventh. Sauter has two career starts with his best finish coming last spring – eighth. Both Buescher and Dillon have one career start each – Buescher finished 14th in 2009, Dillon finished 10th last spring.

Through 16 races, defending series champion Todd Bodine remains win-less and resides 10th in points, 72 back from Sauter. Bodine, fresh off a third place finish at Bristol and seven consecutive top-12 finishes, heads into Atlanta where he has visited victory lane once before (2006).

Here is the entry list for Friday night’s Atlanta 200:
1. #2 Clint Bowyer
2. #3 Austin Dillon
3. #4 Ricky Carmichael
4. #5 Todd Bodine
5. #6 Justin Lofton
6. #7 Miguel Paludo
7. #07 Johnny Chapman
8. #08 Ryan Newman
9. #8 Nelson Piquet Jr.
10. #09 Charles Vest
11. #9 Max Papis
12. #10 Jennifer Jo Cobb
13. #13 Johnny Sauter
14. #17 Timothy Peters
15. #18 Kyle Busch
16. #20 Johanna Long
17. #22 Joey Coulter
18. #23 Jason White
19. #29 Parker Kligerman
20. #31 James Buescher
21. #32 Blake Feese
22. #33 Ron Hornaday Jr.
23. #39 Ryan Sieg
24. #51 Colin Braun
25. #151 Josh Richards
26. #57 Norm Benning
27. #60 Cole Whitt
28. #62 Brendan Gaughan
29. #63 Jack Smith
30. #66 Chris Cockrum
31. #78 B.J. McLeod
32. #81 David Starr
33. #84 Chris Fontaine
34. #88 Matt Crafton
35. #93 Mike Garvey
36. #98 Justin Marks
37. #99 Wayne Edwards

Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.