Atlanta Motor Speedway NCWTS Race Results: Ron Hornaday Jr. Stretches Fuel to Win Truck Race

September 3, 2011 No Comments

Geoff Burke/Getty Images

Ron Hornaday Jr. clearly did not have the truck to beat on Friday, but it was his Kevin Harvick Inc. Chevy which took the checkered flag first.

Clint Bowyer, pilot of the No. 2 KHI Chevy, dominated the majority of the race – leading 97 of 130 laps. Bowyer looked as if he was on his way to his second win of the season but was forced to pit under green on lap 112, forfeiting the lead to Hornaday.

Hornaday pitted under yellow on lap 75 and immediately began saving fuel, avoiding an additional late race pit stop. Bowyer ran laps nearly two seconds quicker than Hornaday following his pit stop but was unable to catch his teammate, trailing at the line by 1.596 seconds.

“I told them (the crew), ‘We don’t have the best truck, but we can win by fuel mileage,’ and (crew chief) Jeff (Hensley) made that call right there. I’ll take ’em any way I can get ’em. That’s cool. Everything’s gone wrong the whole year, so something’s got to go right at least once.”

Kyle Busch, who led 14 laps and battled Bowyer for the lead throughout the night, finished third. Blake Feese, the only other driver on Hornaday’s pit strategy, scored a career best finish in fourth. Ryan Newman finished fifth followed by Austin Dillon, Matt Crafton, Ricky Carmichael, Todd Bodine and James Buescher.

Johnny Sauter, points leader heading into Atlanta, finished 22 laps down in 29th after cutting a tire and slamming the wall on lap 58.

Buescher, who failed to qualify for the Phoenix race in February, now leads the series standings by 12 over Sauter. Hornaday’s win moved him up four positions in the standings to fifth, 48 points back.

Here are the race results from Friday night’s truck race at Atlanta:
1. Ron Hornaday Jr.
2. Clint Bowyer
3. Kyle Busch
4. Blake Feese
5. Ryan Newman
6. Austin Dillon
7. Matt Crafton
8. Ricky Carmichael
9. Todd Bodine
10. James Buescher
11. Jack Smith
12. Parker Kligerman
13. Joey Coulter
14. Max Papis
15. Ryan Sieg
16. Timothy Peters
17. David Starr
18. Brendan Gaughan
19. Colin Braun
20. Nelson Piquet Jr.
21. Josh Richards
22. Miguel Paludo
23. Jennifer Jo Cobb
24. Chris Cockrum
25. Jason White
26. Justin Lofton
27. Chris Fontaine
28. Justin Marks
29. Johnny Sauter
30. B.J. McLeod
31. Johanna Long
32. Cole Whitt
33. Charles Vest
34. Johnny Chapman
35. Mike Garvey
36. Dennis Setzer

Tags: , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.