Auto Club 400 Qualifying Results: Montoya Wins Pole

March 25, 2011 No Comments

Juan Pablo Montoya captured his first pole of the 2011 season Friday at the Auto Club Speedway. Following his strong performance in the shortened practice, Montoya ran a lap of 184.653 mph on the 2-mile oval.

The pole was Montoya’s sixth of his career, with his last coming at Talladega in the fall. This strong qualifying performance puts Montoya in great position to score his first career Sprint Cup victory on an oval track.

Denny Hamlin will fill the front row after a qualifying lap of 184.270 mph. Joe Gibbs Racing continues the hunt for their first win at Auto Club Speedway in the Sprint Cup series.

Joey Logano will start in the third position followed by Regan Smith and Tony Stewart. To finish out the top 10: David Ragan, Jeff Burton, Kyle Busch, Ryan Newman and Mark Martin.

Other notable drivers: Paul Menard (15th), Hometown favorite Jimmie Johnson (16th), Las Vegas winner Carl Edwards (18th), points leader Kurt Busch (23rd), Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne (27th), Phoenix winner Jeff Gordon (29th) and fan favorite, Dale Earnhardt Jr. (30th).

Full starting line-up for Sunday’s race:
1. Juan Pablo Montoya
2. Denny Hamlin
3. Joey Logano
4. Regan Smith
5. Tony Stewart
6. David Ragan
7. Jeff Burton
8. Kyle Busch
9. Ryan Newman
10. Mark Martin
11. Matt Kenseth
12. Jamie McMurray
13. Marcos Ambrose
14. David Reutimann
15. Paul Menard
16. Jimmie Johnson
17. Clint Bowyer
18. Carl Edwards
19. Brian Vickers
20. AJ Allmendinger
21. Brad Keselowski
22. Kasey Kahne
23. Kurt Busch
24. Kevin Harvick
25. Martin Truex Jr.
26. Casey Mears
27. Trevor Bayne
28. Landon Cassill
29. Jeff Gordon
30. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
31. Greg Biffle
32. Dave Blaney
33. Bobby Labonte
34. Michael McDowell
35. Robby Gordon
36. Travis Kvapil
37. David Gilliland
38. Andy Lally
39. Ken Schrader
40. Joe Nemechek
41. Todd Bodine
42. Tony Raines
43. JJ Yeley

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.