Auto Club 400 Results: Kevin Harvick Steals the Show

March 27, 2011 1 Comment

Kevin Harvick celebrates in Victory Lane after late pass. Credit: Tom Pennington/Getty Images for NASCAR

Heading into Fontana, Richard Childress Racing was looking to back bounce from a rough start and that is just what they did. Clint Bowyer finished in 7th, Jeff Burton in 15th and Paul Menard 16th. This was the first race of the season where all the RCR drivers finished in the top 20.

Kevin Harvick, also with Richard Childress Racing looked to have a third place finish in the bag heading into the final lap, but he wasn’t settling. “Mr. Where Did He Come From” caught the leaders (Jimmie Johnson and Kyle Busch) with a late surge hoping to stir the pot. Harvick passed Kyle Busch to take over second place and immediately found himself on Johnson’s bumper heading into turn 3 on the last lap.

With a slight bump, Harvick drove right around Johnson to the lead his only lap of the day, putting Richard Childress Racing in Victory Lane for the first time in 2011. The thrilling finish to Sunday’s Auto Club 400 gave the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series their fifth winner in five races.

When Johnson was asked if it was all fair on the last lap, he responded with, “He did it well. He did his job. I didn’t do my mine holding him off. That was racing.”

Other notable performances: Juan Pablo Montoya (10th), Dale Earnhardt Jr (12th), Paul Menard (16th), Kurt Busch (17th), Jeff Gordon (18th), Joey Logano (25th), Regan Smith (27th), Trevor Bayne (30th), Denny Hamlin (39th)

Complete Results:
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Jimmie Johnson
3. Kyle Busch
4. Matt Kenseth
5. Ryan Newman
6. Carl Edwards
7. Clint Bowyer
8. Brian Vickers
9. Kasey Khane
10. Juan Pablo Montoya
11. Greg Biffle
12. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
13. Tony Stewart
14. AJ Allmendinger
15. Jeff Burton
16. Paul Menard
17. Kurt Busch
18. Jeff Gordon
19. David Reutimann
20. Mark Martin
21. Martin Truex Jr.
22. David Ragan
23. Jamie McMurray
24. Landon Cassill
25. Joey Logano
26. Brad Keselowski
27. Regan Smith
28. Marcos Ambrose
29. Casey Mears
30. Trevor Bayne
31. David Gilliland
32. Andy Lally
33. Ken Schrader
34. Robby Gordon
35. Travis Kvapil
36. Tony Raines
37. Dave Blaney
38. Bobby Labonte
39. Denny Hamlin
40. Todd Bodine
41. JJ Yeley
42. Joe Nemechek
43. Michael McDowell

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage
One Comments to “Auto Club 400 Results: Kevin Harvick Steals the Show”
  1. SW says:

    Great race, great story

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.