Bayne takes Iowa pole at last second

August 2, 2014 No Comments
Jonathan Moore/Getty Images

Jonathan Moore/Getty Images

By Mark Schafer

NEWTON, Ia — It was a close call, but at the last second Trevor Bayne grabbed the fastest speed of the day recorded at Iowa Speedway.

The speed came at the very end of the qualifying session for the NASCAR Nationwide Series qualifying for the U.S. Cellular 250 which will take place at Iowa Speedway later on tonight. With less than a minute to go Brad Keselowski took his lap out on the 7/8th mile track nesteled in the corn field.

Keselowski’s lap time of 23.577 seconds for an average speed of 133.605 mph was not only good enough to take the top spot, it was also the fastest time of the day recorded.

However, there was just enough time for Trevor Bayne to come and take the lead back. Bayne took the green flag with just seconds left in the qualifying session.

Bayne would only get one lap, but he made it count.

At the end of the session when Bayne took the flags to end not only his lap out on the track, but also to end the session, it was his No. 6 Ford that took the lead.

With a lap of 23.558 seconds at an average of 133.713 seconds it was fast enough to give Bayne the pole. For Bayne, this is first pole so far this season. However, for Bayne this is his second pole at Iowa. He last won the pole in June 2013. That was a race that he would later go on to win.

The front row for tonights race will be made up of a pair of 2013 Iowa Nationwide Series winners. Trevor Bayne won the June race, meanwhile it was Keselowski who took home the August race win.

It is the seventh time in his career that Bayne has been the fastest qualifier.

Race lineup: 

1. Trevor Bayne

2. Brad Keselowski

3. Regan Smith

4. Brian Scott

5. Michael McDowell

6. Chase Elliott

7. Sam Hornish Jr.

8. Elliott Sadler

9. Chris Buescher

10. Josh Berry

11. Ryan Reed

12. Chase Pistone

13. Brendan Gaughan

14. Dylan Kwasniewski

15. Ty Dillon

16. Landon Cassill

17. Dakoda Armstrong

18.  James Buescher

19.  Kenny Wallace

20. Ryan Sieg

21. Mike Bliss

22. Kevin Swindell

23. Chad Boat

24. Hal Martin

25. Matt Dibenedetto

26. JJ Yeley

27. Jeffery Earnhardt

28. Jeremy Clements

29. Eric McClure

30. Tanner Berryhill

31. Jamie Dick

32. Blake Koch

33. Joey Gase

34. Josh Reaume

35. Morgan Shepherd

36. Derrike Cope

37. John Jackson

38. Carl Long

39. Matt Frahm

40.  Mike Harmon.


Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.