Bill Elliott highlights 2015 Hall of Fame class

May 21, 2014 No Comments

waltrip_yarborough_lead_nascar_hall_of_fame_classThe 2015 class for the NASCAR Hall of Fame was announced Wednesday afternoon at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in uptown Charlotte, NC.

A panel consisting of members of the NASCAR Hall of Fame and other respected members of the sport voted on a 20-person nominee list.  The panel then voted for the five members deemed to be worthy of election to the 2015 class.

Members of the voting panel met for a total of five hours to decide the five that would be elected to the hall. A general consensus was that this was the most difficult class to decide on, as there were no clear-cut favorites.

The five members of the 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame Class are: Bill Elliott, Wendell Scott, Joe Weatherly, Rex White, and Fred Lorenzen.

Elliott was the 1988 Cup Series champion. He also won the Daytona 500 twice, and won NASCAR’s most-popular driver award an unprecedented 16-times.

Weatherly was the first African American to win a national touring series race in NASCAR when he won in Jacksonville, FL in 1964.

Weatherly was one of NASCAR’s early champions in the premier series. He was a two-time champion before he was killed in a crash in Riverside, CA in 1964.

White was one of the most-consistet drivers in NASCAR history. The 1960 champion has a career average finish of 8.9, ranking him fourth in Cup Series average finishes.

Lorenzen was one of the first drivers from outside the south to find success racing NASCAR. He won in the premier series 26 times, two in the sport’s premier event; the Daytona 500.

The Landmark Award for outstanding contributions to the sport of NASCAR was also voted on for the first time.

Anne B. France, wife of NASCAR-founder Bill France Sr., was the inaugural winner of the Landmark Award.

Inductions to the NASCAR Hall of Fame will take place Friday, January 30,2015. The ceremony can be seen on NBCSN.

Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.