Brad Keselowski Dominates Nationwide race at Chicagoland – Dollar General 300 Race Results

September 17, 2011 No Comments

Todd Warshaw/Getty Images

Long green flag runs and a plethora of laps led later, Brad Keselowski found himself celebrating in victory lane for the third time this season. In fact, it was never close.

Keselowski forfeited the lead to pole-sitter Brian Scott on lap 168 for his final pit stop of the day. Five laps of green flag stops later, it was the No. 22 machine back out front with nearly a nine second lead over second place Carl Edwards. Keselowski set himself on cruise control, leading the final 28 laps, beating Edwards to the line by 8.568 seconds.

Keselowski was a man of very few words in victory lane, making sure we all know to get a free hamburger at Ruby Tuesdays.

“This is a great booster, to get a win before going into the Chase. Our Cup car seems to be really good, qualifying as well as we did for tomorrow with the Miller Lite Dodge.

“The great booster is to get free hamburgers at anytime I win. Bunch of people right there go to the website, get a free hamburger so everybody wins.”

Scott tied a career-best finish in third, followed by Aric Almirola and Sam Hornish Jr., who scored a career-best finish. Elliott Sadler, Jamie McMurray, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Paul Menard and Reed Sorenson rounded out the top 10 and were also the only other drivers which finished on the lead lap.

Edwards saw his chances at a win crumble when he attempted to stretch a green flag run one lap too long, as he ran out of gas at the entrance to pit road on lap 124 of 200. The hiccup cost Edwards his three second lead over Keselowski, relegating him to fifth place by the time this round of green flag stops were completed.

Race Results from Saturday’s Dollar General 300
1. Brad Keselowski
2. Carl Edwards
3. Brian Scott
4. Aric Almirola
5. Sam Hornish Jr.
6. Elliott Sadler
7. Jamie McMurray
8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
9. Paul Menard
10. Reed Sorenson
11. Trevor Bayne
12. Jason Leffler
13. Ryan Truex
14. Justin Allgaier
15. Mike Bliss
16. Michael Annett
17. Kenny Wallace
18. Steve Wallace
19. Joey Logano
20. Mike Wallace
21. Jeremy Clements
22. Timmy Hill
23. Joey Gase
24. Kevin Conway
25. Eric McClure
26. David Stremme
27. Blake Koch
28. Morgan Shepherd
29. Robert Richardson Jr.
30. Scott Wimmer
31. Josh Wise
32. Derrike Cope
33. Kasey Kahne
34. Matt Carter
35. Mark Green
36. Scott Riggs
37. Carl Long
38. Johnny Chapman
39. Danny O’Quinn Jr.
40. Chase Miller
41. Dennis Setzer
42. J.J. Yeley
43. T.J. Bell

Tags: , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.