Brad Keselowski Stretches Fuel to Earn Second Career Sprint Cup Victory

June 5, 2011 No Comments

Brad Keselowski took a risk on Sunday, stretching his fuel tank for the final 57 laps to win the STP 400 at Kansas Speedway. The win comes one week after Keselowski won the pole for the Coca-Cola 600 and just one day after his teammate, Kurt Busch, won the pole for Sunday’s race.

Pole-sitter, Ku. Busch was forced to hit pit road with nine laps remaining, handing the lead back to his teammate. Keselowski was able to conserve enough fuel and keep a solid lead over Dale Earnhardt Jr. to earn his first win of the 2011 season.

Keselowski’s win on Sunday is only the second of his career, with his only other win coming in April 2009 at Talladega Superspeedway. This is the first points race win for Penske Racing since Ku. Busch drove the “blue deuce” to victory lane last year in the Coca-Cola 600.

Earnhardt Jr. was on the losing side of the fuel mileage battle for the second week in a row, finishing in second (finished in seventh last weekend in the Coca-Cola 600 after running out of fuel on the backstretch). Denny Hamlin was able to conserve enough fuel to turn in a third place finish for Joe Gibbs Racing. Jeff Gordon finished in fourth and Carl Edwards in fifth. Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson, Tony Stewart, Kurt Busch and Greg Biffle round out the top 10.

Kyle Busch, who was involved in an altercation with famed owner Richard Childress, finished in 12th position, just one spot behind Richard Childress Racing’s Kevin Harvick.

Full results from Sunday’s STP 400 at Kansas Speedway:
1. Brad Keselowski
2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
3. Denny Hamlin
4. Jeff Gordon
5. Carl Edwards
6. Matt Kenseth
7. Jimmie Johnson
8. Tony Stewart
9. Kurt Busch
10. Greg Biffle
11. Kevin Harvick
12. Kyle Busch
13. David Ragan
14. Kasey Kahne
15. Ryan Newman
16. Brian Vickers
17. Juan Pablo Montoya
18. Clint Bowyer
19. Paul Menard
20. Martin Truex Jr.
21. Mark Martin
22. David Reutimann
23. Joey Logano
24. Regan Smith
25. Jeff Burton
26. Marcos Ambrose
27. AJ Allmendinger
28. Bobby Labonte
29. Jamie McMurray
30. Patrick Carpentier
31. Andy Lally
32. Dave Blaney
33. David Gilliland
34. Travis Kvapil
35. Landon Cassill
36. Johnny Sauter
37. Casey Mears
38. JJ Yeley
39. David Stremme
40. Mike Skinner
41. Michael McDowell
42. Scott Riggs
43. Joe Nemechek

Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.