Brad Keselowski Wins Pole for Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway

May 26, 2011 No Comments

Credit: Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Brad Keselowski won the pole for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 with a lap of 192.089 mph, earning him his second pole of his Sprint Cup career.

Keselowski will start the 600 mile race sitting 24th in the points, with only one top 10 finish in the 2011 season (3rd at Darlington Raceway).

“Every week we just keep picking away a little here, a little bit there,” Keselowski said. “We’re starting to get more people to believe in us. We just have to keep chipping away.”

A.J. Allmendinger will be sporting his U.S. Air Force Ford Fusion on the front row for Sunday’s race, after running a lap of 191.693 mph.

“The U.S. Air Force Ford is really quick. I’m proud of Mike Shiplett and all the guys and I think we’ve got a good race car,” said Allmendinger. “You just want to start up front and now we’ve got to work on Saturday to make the car better and then stay there on Sunday.”

Series points leader and last week’s All-Star race winner, Carl Edwards will start in third. Denny Hamlin was the highest qualifying Toyota in 4th and Jeff Burton qualified fifth, filling the top five with each car manufacturer.

Five drivers failed to qualify: Andy Lally, T.J. Bell, Scott Wimmer, Tony Raines, Scott Riggs

The wave of the green flag for Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 is scheduled for 6:00 PM Eastern Standard Time.

Here is the full starting lineup:
1. Brad Keselowski
2. AJ Allmendinger
3. Carl Edwards
4. Denny Hamlin
5. Jeff Burton
6. Jimmie Johnson
7. David Reutimann
8. David Ragan
9. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
10. Clint Bowyer
11. Jeff Gordon
12. Ryan Newman
13. Mark Martin
14. Martin Truex Jr.
15. Greg Biffle
16. Paul Menard
17. Kasey Kahne
18. Brian Vickers
19. Matt Kenseth
20. Regan Smith
21. Kyle Busch
22. Tony Stewart
23. Joey Logano
24. Marcos Ambrose
25. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
26. Kurt Busch
27. Bobby Labonte
28. Kevin Harvick
29. Juan Pablo Montoya
30. David Gilliland
31. Travis Kvapil
32. David Starr
33. Michael McDowell
34. JJ Yeley
35. Jamie McMurray
36. Joe Nemechek
37. Casey Mears
38. David Stremme
39. Mike Skinner
40. Mike Bliss
41. Landon Cassill
42. Robby Gordon
43. Dave Blaney

Tags: , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.