Bristol Motor Speedway: NCWTS O’Reilly 200 Preview

August 24, 2011 No Comments

John Harrelson/Getty Images


Date: Wednesday, August 24th, 2011
Time: 8:00 PM ET
Where: Bristol Motor Speedway – Bristol, Tennessee
Track: 0.533-mile oval
Banking/Corners: 26 to 30 degrees
Banking/Straights: 4 to 9 degrees
Laps: 200; Miles: 106.6
Broadcast: TV – SPEED Channel; Radio – Motor Racing Network/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio


Start Time Temperature: 78° F
Sunset: 8:08 PM ET
High: 87°F; Low: 66°F
Chance of Rain: 10%

Courtesy of


Defending Pole-Sitter: Kyle Busch
Defending Race Winner: Kyle Busch

Race Record: Travis Kvapil – August 20, 2003 (88.813 mph)
Qualifying Record: Ken Schrader – August 25, 2004 (126.922 mph)


Thunder Valley will host the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series this week for an unusual Wednesday night race under the bright lights at Bristol Motor Speedway. Last week’s race at the two-mile track in Michigan saw Sprint Cup regular Kevin Harvick drive to victory lane on the first and only attempt at green-white-checkered finish.

A late race wreck unfolded when rookie Parker Kligerman spun on the exit in turn two, collecting Austin Dillon, veteran Mark Martin and several other drivers. Dillon nursed his damage Chevrolet to pit road for repairs but ultimately came to rest on pit lane due to engine troubles suffered from the wreck. Dillon, who entered Michigan as the point’s leader, now finds himself third in points behind James Buescher and Johnny Sauter.

Sauter regained the points lead following his 13th place finish in Michigan but has yet to finish in the top 10 at Bristol, the track he made his NCWTS debut at in 2003. Sauter’s best finish at Bristol came last season, where he finished 11th.

Sauter isn’t the only driver which struggles at the high banked .533 mile stadium. In fact, the only driver in the top five which has scored a top 10 at Bristol is Timothy Peters. Peters, now fourth in points (-12), has scored two straight eighth place finishes but also has two DNF’s in only six starts.

Second place Buescher (-5) will make only his third career start at Bristol, where he has one DNF and a 13th place finish which came in 2009.

Harvick’s win at Michigan allowed his No. 2 KHI team to pull even with Kyle Busch’s No. 18 KBM Toyota group in the owners championship. Each team currently sits at 583 points but KBM’s six wins in 2011 gives them the nod as the official leader heading into Bristol.

Busch, the clear favorite, not only swept the March weekend at Bristol but also visited victory lane in all three races last year in August. Busch is riding a three consecutive win streak heading into Wednesday’s truck race, with an average finish of 4.833 in six starts.

How does Harvick shape-up in the tale of the tape? Although Harvick has won in both the Nationwide and Sprint Cup Series, he and KHI remain win-less at Bristol with an average finish of 10.750 in four races.

Here is the entry list for Wednesday’s O’Reilly 200 at Bristol Motor Speedway:
1. #01 Jake Crum
2. #2 Kevin Harvick
3. #3 Austin Dillon
4. #4 Ricky Carmichael
5. #5 Todd Bodine
6. #6 Justin Lofton
7. #7 Miguel Paludo
8. #07 John King
9. #8 Nelson Piquet Jr.
10. #9 Max Papis
11. #09 Bryan Silas
12. #10 Jennifer Jo Cobb
13. #13 Johnny Sauter
14. #17 Timothy Peters
15. #18 Kyle Busch
16. #20 Johanna Long
17. #22 Joey Coulter
18. #23 Jason White
19. #24 Elliott Sadler
20. #29 Parker Kligerman
21. #31 James Buescher
22. #32 Blake Feese
23. #33 Ron Hornaday Jr.
24. #38 Mike Garvey
25. #39 Ryan Sieg
26. #51 Josh Richards
27. #57 Norm Benning
28. #60 Cole Whitt
29. #62 Brendan Gaughan
30. #65 Brent Raymer
31. #66 Ross Chastain
32. #70 Jeff Agnew
33. #73 Brian Johnson Jr.
34. #81 David Starr
35. #87 Chris Jones
36. #88 Matt Crafton
37. #92 Clay Rogers
38. #96 Todd Peck

Tags: , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.