Bristol Motor Speedway Sprint Cup Starting Lineup: Ryan Newman Wins Pole; Team Owner Tony Stewart Qualifies Dead Last

August 26, 2011 No Comments

Jerry Markland/Getty Images

Rocketman Ryan Newman captured the pole in Friday’s qualifying session, turning a lap of 122.811 mph around the .533 mile oval. Newman, winner of the Whelen Modifieds race at Bristol on Wednesday, earned his second pole of the 2011 season.

“The car drove the same as practice but evidently it was faster,” said Newman. “It was a good run, gotta thank Bass Pro Shops. Good team effort for us tonight.”

Newman, currently seventh in points, won the pole and race this season at New Hampshire but remains win-less at Bristol in 19 career starts.

Carl Edwards, fastest in both Sprint Cup practice sessions, will fill the front row Saturday night. Edwards teammate Matt Kenseth qualified third with Hendrick teammates Mark Martin and Jeff Gordon in fourth and fifth.

Jamie McMurray, Paul Menard, Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano and Kurt Busch rounded out the top 10.

Newman’s teammate and team owner Tony Stewart qualified dead last, nearly a full second behind Newman. Stewart currently sits 10th in points, win-less in 2011.

Three drivers failed to qualify: T.J. Bell, J.J. Yeley and Jeff Green.

Here is the starting lineup for the Irwin Tools Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway:
1. Ryan Newman
2. Carl Edwards
3. Matt Kenseth
4. Jeff Gordon
5. Mark Martin
6. Jamie McMurray
7. Paul Menard
8. Brad Keselowski
9. Joey Logano
10. Kurt Busch
11. Marcos Ambrose
12. Regan Smith
13. Jimmie Johnson
14. Greg Biffle
15. Kevin Harvick
16. Clint Bowyer
17. David Gilliland
18. A.J. Allmendinger
19. Juan Pablo Montoya
20. Denny Hamlin
21. Jeff Burton
22. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
23. Kyle Busch
24. David Ragan
25. Kasey Kahne
26. Brian Vickers
27. Martin Truex Jr.
28. Joe Nemechek
29. Casey Mears
30. Bobby Labonte
31. David Stremme
32. Michael McDowell
33. Travis Kvapil
34. David Reutimann
35. Dave Blaney
36. Scott Speed
37. David Starr
38. Andy Lally
39. Robby Gordon
40. Mike Bliss
41. Terry Labonte
42. Tony Stewart
43. Mike Skinner

Tags: , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.