Cup: What 2 Watch 4- Indianapolis

July 27, 2011 No Comments


Photo Credit: IMS


Date: Sunday, July 31st, 2011
Time: 1pm ET
Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Capacity: 350,000
Laps: 160 ; Miles: 400
Broadcast: TV – ESPN ; Radio – IMS Network/Sirius XM NASCAR

Friday: High-91°F ; Low-74°F
20% Chance of Rain
Winds NNW at 8mph

Courtesy of

Fantasy Racing Picks: 

Target: Juan Pablo Montoya, Jamie McMurray, Tony Stewart, Kevin Harvick, and Jimmie Johnson

Avoid: Denny Hamlin, Kurt Busch, and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Analysis: There’s something about Indy and Chip Ganassi. It’s either feast or famine for Johnson at Indy, and it’s never wise to bet against him.

Bargain: Indy is technical like a road course, which plays to Marcos Ambrose‘s strengths. David Ragan has three top-20 finishes in his last four starts.

Preview- Notes:

- There have been 17 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway since the first race, in 1994.
- Four drivers have competed in all 17 races: Jeff Burton, Jeff Gordon, Bobby Labonte and Mark Martin.
- Rick Mast won the first pole, in 1994.
- Jeff Gordon won the 1994 inaugural race.
- There have been 14 different pole winners.
- Jeff Gordon leads all pole winners, with three.
- 10 drivers have won, led by Jeff Gordon, with four victories.
- Jimmie Johnson (three), Dale Jarrett and Tony Stewart (two each) are the other multiple winners.
- Hendrick Motorsports has won seven races, more than any other organization.
- Nine races have been won from a top-five starting position.
- The furthest back a race winner has started at Indianapolis was 27th, by Jeff Gordon in 2001.
- Two drivers have won from the pole: Kevin Harvick in 2003 and Jimmie Johnson in 2008.
- Dale Jarrett (1996), Jimmie Johnson (2006) and Jamie McMurray (2010) are the only drivers to win both the Daytona 500 and the Brickyard 400 in the same season.
- Tony Stewart (8.2), Jeff Gordon (9.4) and Kevin Harvick (9.9) are the only active drivers to average a top-10 finish.
- Three of the last five Indianapolis races ending under green had a margin of victory under one second.
- 14 of the 17 races have been won by a past, reigning or future NASCAR Sprint Cup champion. The only three that were not: Ricky Rudd in 1997, Kevin Harvick in 2003 and Jamie McMurray in 2010.
- The winner of the Indianapolis race has won the championship in the same year eight times in the 17 years the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series has raced there:
2009: Jimmie Johnson
2008: Jimmie Johnson
2006: Jimmie Johnson
2005: Tony Stewart
2001: Jeff Gordon
2000: Bobby Labonte
1999: Dale Jarrett
1998: Jeff Gordon

Driver Rating at Indianapolis
Tony Stewart 109.3
Juan P. Montoya 106.4
Mark Martin 105.3
Jimmie Johnson 100.1
Greg Biffle 97.7
Kevin Harvick 95.1
Jeff Burton 95.0
Kyle Busch 94.0
Mike Bliss 93.4
Jeff Gordon 92.7
Note: Driver Rating compiled from 2005-2010 races (6 total) at Indianapolis.

For all your post race analysis, continue to follow, as Branden and I will do our best to make you feel like you are part of the action! Have fun this weekend!




Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.