Daytona International Speedway: Kevin Harvick Wins Pole as Kevin Harvick Incorporated Captures Top Four Spots

July 1, 2011 No Comments

Kevin Harvick captured the top spot for Friday’s Nationwide race at Daytona International Speedway, but it was a team effort which dominated the headlines. Kevin Harvick Incorporated will fill the first two rows in Friday’s Subway Jalapeno 250.

Harvick turned a lap of 181.653 mph around the 2.5 mile Superspeedway to earn his first pole of the 2011 Nationwide season. Tony Stewart, who won the February Nationwide race at Daytona, qualified second with a lap of 181.375 mph.

Elliott Sadler and Clint Bowyer will start third and fourth just one day after a wreck in final practice which forced Bowyer to go to a backup car. Sadler’s crew was also forced to repair the right side after brushing the wall.

The two KHI Chevy’s were running as a two-car tandem and reached speeds well over 195 mph before approaching the slower No. 28 of Derrike Cope, which didn’t realize the closing rate. Cope moved up the track, directly into the path of Sadler and Bowyer. Sadler slammed the outside wall while trying to avoid Cope. Bowyer, the pusher, was sent spinning across the track and finally came to rest in the slick grass.

Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne qualified fifth with Jamie McMurray in sixth. Danica Patrick, Carl Edwards, Reed Sorenson and Justin Allgaier round out the top 10.

Chase Miller (No. 46) was the only driver which failed to qualify.

Breaking News:Kenny Wallace’s car has failed post-qualifying inspection (height) and will have to start from the back of the field.

Here is the complete starting lineup for Friday’s Subway Jalapeno 250 at Daytona International Speedway (7:30 PM EST on ESPN):
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Tony Stewart
3. Elliott Sadler
4. Clint Bowyer
5. Trevor Bayne
6. Jamie McMurray
7. Danica Patrick
8. Carl Edwards
9. Reed Sorenson
10. Justin Allgaier
11. Brad Keselowski
12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
13. Aric Almirola
14. Kyle Busch
15. Jason Leffler
16. Tim George
17. Brian Scott
18. Joey Logano
19. Kenny Wallace
20. Steve Wallace
21. Ricky Carmichael
22. Mike Wallace
23. Michael Annett
24. Joe Nemechek
25. Kevin Conway
26. Timmy Hill
27. Robert Richardson Jr.
28. Jeffrey Earnhardt
29. Jeff Green
30. Mike Harmon
31. Blake Koch
32. Carl Long
33. Mike Bliss
34. Jennifer Jo Cobb
35. Morgan Shepherd
36. Josh Wise
37. Jeremy Clements
38. Eric McClure
39. Charles Lewandoski
40. Derrike Cope
41. Kevin LePage
42. Dennis Setzer
43. Danny Efland

Tags: , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.