Daytona International Speedway: Mark Martin Tops Sprint Cup Qualifying – Starting Lineup

July 2, 2011 No Comments


Mark Martin will lead the field to green Saturday night under the bright lights of Daytona International Speedway. Martin turned a lap of 182.065 mph around the 2.5 mile Superspeedway to earn his 50th career pole.

Surprise Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne was on the provisional pole until the 53 year old veteran knocked him off with five drivers left to qualify. Bayne’s lap of 182.002 mph was good enough to hold on to the second position.

Clint Bowyer qualified third for Saturday’s race followed by Jeff Gordon and David Ragan. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Andy Lally, Jimmie Johnson, A.J. Allmendinger and Paul Menard round out the top 10.

Just months after Hendrick Motorsports earned the top four qualifying spots at Talladega (also a Superspeedway-restrictor plate track), they will have all four of their cars starting in the top 10. Jimmie Johnson went on to earn the win for Hendrick Motorsports.

“This is really special because I know how much work goes into the four restrictor plate races each year by Hendrick Motorsports,” said Martin. “It’s kind of amazing that they manage to sweep the restrictor plate poles. It is just an engineering feat by all.

“The engine department, chassis department, aero and by the No. 5 guys themselves to squeeze a little bit more out of that one particular than our teammates. It’s really pretty cool to be a part of that team. I was the lucky guy that really had nothing to do with it other than to be the lucky guy that got to strap in it today.”

Joe Gibbs Racing had the complete opposite turnout when compared with Hendrick Motorsports. JGR claimed positions 36 – Denny Hamlin, 38 – Joey Logano and 39- Kyle Busch.

“We knew we weren’t going to qualify that good so it kind of is what it is,” said Logano. “We’ll see what happens.”

Tony Raines and J.J. Yeley were the only two drivers which failed to qualify.

Here is the complete starting lineup for Saturday’s Coke Zero at Daytona International Speedway (7:30 PM EST; Live on TNT):
1. Mark Martin
2. Trevor Bayne
3. Clint Bowyer
4. Jeff Gordon
5. David Ragan
6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
7. Andy Lally
8. Jimmie Johnson
9. A.J. Allmendinger
10. Paul Menard
11. Ryan Newman
12. Jeff Burton
13. Kasey Kahne
14. Carl Edwards
15. Marcos Ambrose
16. Matt Kenseth
17. Greg Biffle
18. Jamie McMurray
19. Tony Stewart
20. Brian Vickers
21. Landon Cassill
22. Kevin Conway
23. David Reutimann
24. Bobby Labonte
25. Kurt Busch
26. Brad Keselowski
27. Travis Kvapil
28. Regan Smith
29. Mike Skinner
30. Juan Pablo Montoya
31. Kevin Harvick
32. Casey Mears
33. Michael McDowell
34. Martin Truex Jr.
35. Geoff Bodine
36. Denny Hamlin
37. Joe Nemechek
38. Joey Logano
39. Kyle Busch
40. David Gilliland
41. Dave Blaney
42. Terry Labonte
43. Mike Bliss

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.