Goody’s Fast Relief 500 Qualifying Results: McMurray Captures First Pole of 2011

April 2, 2011 No Comments

Jamie McMurray captured the pole on Saturday for the Goody’s Fast Relief 500 at Martinsville Speedway with a lap of 96.509 mph. The pole is McMurray’s first at Martinsville, first of the 2011 season and eighth of his career. It is also the 2nd consecutive race an Earnhardt-Ganassi car will lead the field to the green flag.

“This is really big for our team,” McMurray said. “We’ve had some really good cars, and for the most part, it’s been at the short tracks that we’ve run the best.”

McMurray currently sits 28th in the points standings with his highest finish of the season (18th) coming at Daytona. His best finish at Martinsville Speedway came in 2004, where he finished 2nd in the Spring race.

Ryan Newman qualified second with a lap of 96.342 mph, making it an all Chevy front row for Sunday’s race. Red Bull Racing’s Kasey Kahne qualified third with Joey Logano and Denny Hamlin finishing out the top 5.

Here is the full running order for Sunday’s race:
1. Jamie McMurray
2. Ryan Newman
3. Kasey Kahne
4. Joey Logano
5. Denny Hamlin
6. AJ Allmendinger
7. Bobby Labonte
8. David Reutimann
9. Kevin Harvick
10. Regan Smith
11. Kyle Busch
12. Mark Martin
13. Brian Vickers
14. David Ragan
15. Clint Bowyer
16. Paul Menard
17. Jimmie Johnson
18. Martin Truex Jr.
19. Marcos Ambrose
20. Kurt Busch
21. Jeff Gordon
22. Brad Keselowski
23. Carl Edwards
24. Matt Kenseth
25. Trevor Bayne
26. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
27. Juan Pablo Montoya
28. Tony Stewart
29. Dave Blaney
30. Casey Mears
31. Travis Kvapil
32. Jeff Burton
33. Greg Biffle
34. Robby Gordon
35. Michael McDowell
36. David Gilliland
37. Joe Nemechek
38. Landon Cassill
39. Mike Skinner
40. Ken Schrader
41. Tony Raines
42. JJ Yeley
43. Hermie Sadler

Tags: , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.