Gordon powers to Michigan win

August 17, 2014 No Comments
Photo Credit: Getty Images for NASCAR

Photo Credit: Getty Images for NASCAR

Brian Wiggins, Senior Writer 

BROOKLYN,MI— Jeff Gordon last won at Michigan International Speedway in June, 2001.

At that time, it was the one-hundreth win for Hendrick Motorsports and Gordon was considered to be the best in the sport.

Thirteen years later, Hendrick Motorsports has collected over one-hundred more victories and Gordon is having a season which can only be described as reinvigorating for his career.

Setting a track record at over 206 mph, Gordon started Sunday’s Pure Michigan 400 from the pole and showed from the start that he had the car to beat. Much like he did when he won last time at Michigan.

Staying in contention for the win all day, Gordon took the final restart of the race with seventeen laps to go on the outside of Joey Logano. Gordon powered around Logano through the first set of corners, took off and never looked back as he went on to win the Pure Michigan 400.

“It wasn’t easy,” Gordon said. “It’s never easy to win at any of these tracks, especially when aerodynamics and track position mean so much.

That last restart was it. We had the car to win. Our car was amazing. But whoever got out in front had such a huge advantage.”

Sunday’s win marked the third of the season for Gordon, tying him with Jimmie Johnson,Brad Keselowski, and Dale Earnhardt Jr. for the most in the Sprint Cup Series through twenty-three races.  The win was also the ninety-first win or Gordon’s career.

Gordon maintains his lead in the overall Sprint Cup points and vaults to the top of the Chase Grid with his win at Michigan.

Kevin Harvick, Logano, Paul Menard, and Earnhardt Jr. rounded out the top-five finishers from Sunday’s race.

The next race for the Sprint Cup Series is the IRWIN Tools Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on Saturday, August, 24.

Pure Michigan 400 Unofficial Results 

1: Jeff Gordon

2: Kevin Harvick

3: Joey Logano

4: Paul Menard

5: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

6: Clint Bowyer

7: Denny Hamlin

8: Brad Keselowski

9: Jimmie Johnson

10: Greg Biffle

11: Ryan Newman

12: Marcos Ambrose

13: AJ Allmendinger

14: Jamie McMurray

15: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

16: Kasey Kahne

17: Casey Mears

18: Danica Patrick

19: Brian Vickers

20: Aric Amirola

21: David Gilliland

22: Austin Dillon

23: Carl Edwards

24: David Ragan

25: Cole Whitt

26: Alex Bowman

27: Reed Sorenson

28: Josh Wise

29: Landon Cassill

30: JJ Yelely

31: Kurt Busch

32: Travis Kvapil

33: Dave Blaney

34: Alex Kennedy

35: Joe Nemechek

36: Martin Truex Jr.

37: Jeff Burton

38: Matt Kenseth

39: Kyle Busch

40: Michael Annett

41: Trevor Bayne

42: Justin Allgaier

43: Kyle Larson


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.