Harvick wins Kansas pole

May 9, 2014 No Comments


Harvick 2014 Jimmy

Brian Wiggins, Senior Writer

Kevin Harvick hasn’t been known as a great qualifier throughout his 14-year tenure in the Sprint Cup Series. That was until he joined Stewart Haas Racing (SHR )in 2014.

The driver of the No.4 Chevrolet for SHR won the pole for Saturday night’s 5 Hour Energy 400 at Kansas Speedway with a lap of record at 194.252 mph around the 1.5-mile tri-oval.

Friday’s pole marks the second time in 2014 Harvick has won a Coors Light Pole Award; the other occurred at Phoenix International Raceway in March, a race Harvick went on to win.

The pole also marks only the second time in Harvick’s career in which he has won multiple poles, the other being in 2005.

In the October,2013 race at Kansas Speedway, Harvick started on the pole and went on to win.

Starting next to Harvick Saturday night will be the No.22 Team Penske Ford of Joey Logano.

Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards and Kyle Larson round out the top-five starters for Saturday night’s 267-lap event.

5 Hour Energy 400 Starting Lineup 

1: Kevin Harvick

2: Joey Logano

3: Brad Keselowski

4: Carl Edwards

5: Kyle Larson

6: Kurt Busch

7: Ryan Newman

8: Tony Stewart

9: Danica Patrick

10: Greg Biffle

11: Jamie McMurray

12: Aric Almirola

13: Jeff Gordon

14: Jimmie Johnson

15: Brian Vickers

16: Paul Menard

17: Kasey Kahne

18: Justin Allgaier

19: Austin Dillon

20: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

21: Ryan Blaney

22: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

23: Clint Bowyer

24: Kyle Busch

25: Marcos Ambrose

26: Martin Truex Jr.

27: Casey Mears

28: Matt Kenseth

29: AJ Allmendinger

30: Denny Hamlin

31: Ryan Truex

32: Josh Wise

33: Alex Bowman

34: Michael Annett

35: JJ Yeley

36: Cole Whitt

37: Reed Sorenson

38: David Ragan

39: David Gilliland

40: Landon Cassill

41: Travis Kvapil

42: Timmy Hill

43: Joe Nemechek

Tags: , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.