Indianapolis Motor Speedway Starting Lineup: David Ragan on the Pole For Sunday’s Brickyard 400

July 30, 2011 No Comments

Chris Graythen/Getty Images

David Ragan captured the pole for the 18th running of the Brickyard 400 after turning a lap of 182.994 mph around the 2.5 mile rectangle shaped track.

Ragan, who’s previous best start at Indianapolis Motor Speedway was 16th, knocked Jimmie Johnson off of the provisional pole with only four drivers remaining in Saturday’s qualifying session.

Kasey Kahne bumped the five-time champion down to the third spot with a lap of 182.927 mph. The Penske Racing duo of Kurt Busch and Brad Keselowski qualified fourth and fifth. A.J. Allmendinger, Juan Pablo Montoya, Jeff Gordon, Matt Kenseth and Carl Edwards round out the top 10.

Scott Speed, driving the No. 37 for Max Q Motorsports, will be making his first start of the 2011 season after qualifying on time (179.548 mph) for Sunday’s race.

David Stremme, Travis Kvapil, Erik Darnell, J.J. Yeley and Scott Wimmer were the “go-or-go-homers” which failed to make the field.

Here is the full starting lineup for the Brickyard 400:
1. David Ragan
2. Kasey Kahne
3. Jimmie Johnson
4. Kurt Busch
5. Brad Keselowski
6. A.J. Allmendinger
7. Juan Pablo Montoya
8. Jeff Gordon
9. Matt Kenseth
10. Carl Edwards
11. Casey Mears
12. Mark Martin
13. Jeff Burton
14. Denny Hamlin
15. Paul Menard
16. Jamie McMurray
17. Bobby Labonte
18. Greg Biffle
19. Kevin Harvick
20. Joey Logano
21. Marcos Ambrose
22. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
23. Ryan Newman
24. Tony Stewart
25. Trevor Bayne
26. Clint Bowyer
27. Regan Smith
28. David Reutimann
29. Kyle Busch
30. Martin Truex Jr.
31. Brian Vickers
32. Landon Cassill
33. Dave Blaney
34. Scott Speed
35. Michael McDowell
36. Joe Nemechek
37. David Gilliland
38. Mike Skinner
39. Andy Lally
40. T.J. Bell
41. Robby Gordon
42. Mike Blis
43. Terry Labonte

Tags: , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.