Jeff Gordon claims pole at Watkins Glen

August 9, 2014 No Comments

BunJ5Y7CcAE-WvqBrian Wiggins, Senior Writer 

Since his first full season in the Cup Series in 1993, Jeff Gordon has won a pole position at some point during the season.

Heading into this weekend’s race at Watkins Glen, Gordon had yet to win a pole in 2014. And having to out-qualify the driver who has won two of the last three races at the famous road course, Marcos Ambrose.

After Ambrose broke the track record in the first round of qualifying Saturday morning, Gordon beat the lap of record set by Ambrose in the second round and final round to earn the pole for Sunday’s Cheez-It 355 at the Glen.

Saturday’s pole is the seventy-fifth pole of Gordon’s career, keeping his streak of winning a pole every season he’s competed in the Cup Series intact. It was also the first time Gordon has won a pole at Watkins Glen since 2001, which is also the last time he visited victory lane at the track.

Ambrose, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, and Kurt Busch round out the top-five starters for tomorrow’s ninety-lap event.

With forty-three cars attempting to qualify for the forty-three-car field, no driver failed to make the event.

Cheez-It 355 Starting Lineup

1: Jeff Gordon

2: Marcos Ambrose

3: Jimmie Johnson

4: Kevin Harvick

5: Kurt Busch

6: AJ Allmendinger

7: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

8: Matt Kenseth

9: Brad Keselowski

10: Ryan Newman

11: Joey Logano

12: Brian Vickers

13: Tony Stewart

14: Jamie McMurray

15: Justin Allgaier

16: Carl Edwards

17: Denny Hamlin

18: Cole Whitt

19: Kyle Busch

20: Paul Menard

21: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

22: Casey Mears

23: Kyle Larson

24: Clint Bowyer

25: Martin Truex Jr.

26: David Ragan

27: Aric Almirola

28: Greg Biffle

29: Michael McDowell

30: Kasey Kahne

31: Austin Dillon

32: Nelson Piquet Jr.

33: David Gilliland

34: Boris Said

35: Ryan Truex

36: Alex Bowman

37: Josh Wise

38: Alex Kennedy

39: Reed Sorenson

40: Joe Nemechek

41: Landon Casssill

42: Michael Annett

43: Danica Patrick


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.