Justin Allgaier Wins the STP 300 in Dramatic Fashion

June 4, 2011 No Comments

Illinois native, Justin Allgaier won the STP 300 in dramatic fashion on Saturday, finishing the 300 mile race on fumes. The fuel mileage battle between Carl Edwards and Allgaier peaked on the backstretch during the last lap.

Edwards led Allgaier by a little over a car length until his car ran out of gas, allowing Allgaier to capitalize and move into first. Allgaier ended up running out of fuel coming out of turn four, but had just enough to make it to the checkered flag, beating Edwards to the line by 1.719 seconds.

“I didn’t know if we had enough time to get by him or not,” said Allgaier. “He started wiggling pretty good and I knew he must have been out, so I got a big grin on my face ear-to-ear and turned left and as soon as I got even with him, mine ran out of fuel. I had just a little bit more momentum.”

Allgaier becomes only the second Nationwide regular to win in 2011. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. was the first Nationwide regular to capture a win just two weeks ago at Iowa Speedway, which also happened to be a standalone race. Allgaier only led one lap in his second career victory, with his first coming more than one year ago at Bristol Motor Speedway (March 20, 2010).

Trevor Bayne, who was making his first NASCAR start since April 23rd, finished in third after starting 31st. Pole-sitter, Aric Almirola finished in fourth with Jason Leffler in fifth.

Complete Results from Saturday’s STP 300 at Chicagoland Speedway:
1. Justin Allgaier
2. Carl Edwards
3. Trevor Bayne
4. Aric Almirola
5. Jason Leffler
6. Reed Sorenson
7. Kenny Wallace
8. Kelly Bires
9. Michael Annett
10. Danica Patrick
11. Elliott Sadler
12. Steve Wallace
13. Kevin Harvick
14. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
15. Timmy Hill
16. Mike Wallace
17. Brian Scott
18. Eric McClure
19. Scott Wimmer
20. Ryan Truex
21. Joe Nemechek
22. Mike Bliss
23. Derrike Cope
24. Charles Lewandoski
25. Morgan Shepherd
26. Josh Wise
27. Blake Koch
28. Kevin Lepage
29. Jeremy Clements
30. Carl Long
32. Robert Richardson Jr.
33. Mikey Kile
34. Tim Andrews
35. Dennis Setzer
36. Rick Crawford
37. Matthew Carter
38. Johnny Chapman
39. Mike Harmon
40. Jeff Green
41. Chase Miller
42. Brett Rowe

Tags: , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.