NSCS: Kasey Kahne captures pole for Sunday’s Kobalt Tools 400

March 9, 2012 No Comments

Photo Credit: Getty Images for NASCAR

Even with a qualifying lap and a track record at 190.040 mph., Kyle Bush wasn’t able to hang on to the pole for Sunday’s Kobalt Tools 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway and will start from the second position of the field. Kasey Kahne setting yet another track record with a qualifying lap at 190.456 will start from the pole for the 23rd time in his career. Today was the first time the 190 mph speed was broken at the 1.5 mile track.

“I always like racing at Vegas,” said Kahne. This is his first pole as a driver for Hendrick Motorsports and also qualifies him for the Budweiser Shootout in Daytona in 2013. Kahne has seven poles since 2010, the most of any Sprint Cup driver.

Kevin Harvick, will start in the third position and rounding out the top ten are Dale Earnhardt Jr., Clint Bowyer, Jimmie Johnson, Tony Stewart, Joey Logano, Greg Biffle and Martin Truex Jr. Last year’s Kobalt Tools 400 winner, Carl Edwards will start from the 21st position. Timmy Hill who in his second attempt to qualify for a NSCS race will start in the 42nd postion in his No. 37 Ford. Josh Wise was the fastest qualifying rookie and will start in the 33rd position in his #26 Ford.

With 45 cars entered in to the race, two drivers failed to qualify, Scott Riggs in his No. 23 Chevy and Robby Gordon in his No. 7 Dodge

Starting Lineup or the Kobalt Tools 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway
1. Kasey Kahne
2. Kyle Bush
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
5. Clint Bowyer
6. Jimmie Johnson
7. Tony Stewart
8. Joey Logano
9. Greg Biffle
10. Martin Truex Jr.
11. Matt Kenseth
12. Kurt Busch
13. Mark Martin
14. AJ Almendinger
15. Marcose Ambrose
16. Jeff Gordon
17. Denny Hamlin
18. Ryan Newman
19. Jamie McMurray
20. Brad Keselowski
21. Carl Edwards
22. Jeff Burton
23. Brendan Gaughan
24. Bobby Labonte
25. Trevor Bayne
26. Paul Menard
27. Aric Amirola
28. Regan Smith
29. Juan Pablo Montoya
30. Landon Cassill
31. David Reutimann
32. Casey Mears
33. Josh Wise
34. David Gilliland
35. David Ragan
36. JJ Yeley
37. Travis Kvapil
38. Dave Blaney
39. Michael McDowell
40. Joe Nemechek
41. Ken Schrader
42. Timmy Hill
43. David Stremme

Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.