Kentucky Speedway – Sprint Cup Starting Lineup: Qualifying Rained Out; Kyle Busch Receives Pole Based Off Practice Times

July 8, 2011 No Comments

Sprint Cup qualifying was almost at it’s halfway point before rain hit Kentucky Speedway, washing away all previous qualifying times (22 drivers had qualified). NASCAR officially called off Sprint Cup qualifying at 6:15 EST, forcing the starting lineup for Saturday’s Quaker State 400 to be set by the first (and only) practice times.

Kyle Busch’s practice speed awarded him the pole for the inaugural Cup race at Kentucky Speedway, with Juan Pablo Montoya filling the front row. Kurt Busch qualified third with Kasey Kahne and Jimmie Johnson rounding out the top five.

Michael Waltrip and David Stremme made it into the 43-car field after turning laps quick enough to beat out the other go-or-go-home drivers, but the rain eliminated their times. Waltrip and Stremme will now be on the outside looking in Saturday night. Robby Gordon, David Starr and T.J. Bell are the other drivers which failed to qualify.

Here is the starting lineup for Saturday night’s Quaker State 400 (Live on TNT 7:30 PM EST):
1. Kyle Busch
2. Juan Pablo Montoya
3. Kurt Busch
4. Kasey Kahne
5. Jimmie Johnson
6. Brad Keselowski
7. Carl Edwards
8. David Ragan
9. Tony Stewart
10. Paul Menard
11. Marcos Ambrose
12. Regan Smith
13. Matt Kenseth
14. Jeff Gordon
15. Joey Logano
16. Martin Truex Jr.
17. David Reutimann
18. Ryan Newman
19. Kevin Harvick
20. Clint Bowyer
21. Greg Biffle
22. Jeff Burton
23. A.J. Allmendinger
24. Bobby Labonte
25. Casey Mears
26. Denny Hamlin
27. Brian Vickers
28. Mark Martin
29. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
30. Landon Cassill
31. Joe Nemechek
32. Dave Blaney
33. Mike Skinner
34. Jamie McMurray
35. David Gilliland
36. J.J. Yeley
37. Travis Kvapil
38. Michael McDowell
39. Andy Lally
40. Scott Riggs
41. Tony Raines
42. Mike Bliss
43. Scott Wimmer

Tags: , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.