Keselowski dominates Quaker State 400

June 28, 2014 No Comments

BrRApdZCUAAfi3TBrian Wiggins, Senior Writer

If you wanted a chance to win Saturday night’s Quaker State 400 at Kentucky Speedway, you better have been driving a Team Penske Ford.

The night started out with an all Team Penske front row, with Brad Keselowski on the pole and Joey Logano starting alongside.

From the outset of the race, it was apparent that the No.2 and the No.22 were the class of the field. The two were so dominant that only one other driver (Kyle Busch) led a lap on the night.

Over the course of the 267-lap race, Keselowski led a whopping 199 laps en route to his second victory of the 2014 season.

“It was just one of those races where you just know that you have a really fast car,” Keselowski said in victory lane at Kentucky Speedway.

“You’re just waiting for something to go wrong and that last yellow caught us out of sequence.”

That last caution of the race for a spin by David Stremme led to the final pit stops of the night, sending Keselowski back to sixth and Busch to the lead.

“We had a decent restart, but I didn’t think I was going to catch Kyle,” said Keselowski about the run to the checkered flag.

Keselowski made the pass on Busch with nineteen laps to go and never looked back and became the first repeat Sprint Cup winner at Kentucky Speedway.

After running much of the night trailing his Penske teammate in second position, Logano fought engine woes over the final thirty laps, relegating him to a ninth-place finish.

While Logano’s night was ruined by an engine, much of the night was marred by tire failures.

Denny Hamlin, Kyle Larson, Matt Kenseth, Aric Almirola, and David Stremme were among the drivers to experience tire failures on the night, with Kenseth rallying to finish in the fourth-position.

Keselowski, Busch, Ryan Newman, Kenseth, and Dale Earnhardt Jr. were the top-five finishers Saturday night.

Series points leader, Jeff Gordon, had quiet night at Kentucky Speedway. The No.24 Chevrolet ran inside the top-10 through most of the night, however never contended for the win and finished sixth.

Next up for the Sprint Cup Series is Daytona International Speedway for the running of the Coke Zero 400 on July 5.

Quaker State 400 Unofficial Results 

1: Brad Keselowski

2: Kyle Busch

3: Ryan Newman

4: Matt Kenseth

5; Dale Earnhardt Jr.

6: Jeff Gordon

7: Kevin Harvick

8: Kasey Kahne

9: Joey Logano

10: Jimmie Johnson

11: Tony Stewart

12: Kurt Busch

13: Marcos Ambrose

14: Greg Biffle

15: Paul Menard

16: Austin Dillon

17: Carl Edwards

18: Michael Annett

19: Martin Truex Jr.

20: Casey Mears

21: Danica Patrick

22: AJ Allmendinger

23: Clint Bowyer

24: Justin Allgaier

25: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

26: Brian Vickers

27: Reed Sorenson

28: Cole Whitt

29: Josh Wise

30: David Gilliland

31: David Ragan

32: Landon Cassill

33: Ryan Truex

34: Travis Kvapil

35: David Stremme

36: Alex Bowman

37: Jamie McMurray

38: Joe Nemechek

39: Aric Almirola

40: Kyle Larson

41: Mike Bliss

42: Denny Hamlin

Tags: , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.