Kevin Harvick wins Michigan pole, new track record

June 13, 2014 No Comments

Happy MISBrian Wiggins, Senior Writer 

There may be no hotter driver in 2014 in the Sprint Cup Series than Kevin Harvick.

With two wins on the season, Harvick and his No.4 Stewart-Haas Racing team have been fast at each and every racetrack visited thus far. That was the case again this weekend at Michigan International Speedway.

After posting the second-fastest lap in the afternoon practice session, Harvick took to the two-mile oval in qualifying and won the pole for Sunday’s Quicken Loans 400.

Not only did Harvick win the pole, but he broke the track record set last August by Joey Logano.

Harvick turned the fastest lap in each of the three sessions of qualifying, however his last lap in the final round was his fastest.

By turning a lap averaging 204.557 mph, Harvick recorded the fastest pole speed in NASCAR since 1987; the last year restrictor plates were not used at Daytona and Talladega.

This is the third pole of 2014 for Harvick. Prior to joining Stewart-Haas Racing. Harvick had only recorded six previous pole awards in his Cup career dating back to 2001.

“I have to thank everybody from the Hendrick Motorsports engine shop,” Harvick said after qualifying. “When you put those two [Hendrick engines and his Stewart-Haas Racing team] together, it creates a lot of speed.”

Starting alongside Harvick will be Sprint Cup Series points leader, Jeff Gordon. Five of the top-ten starters for Sunday’s race are powered by Hendrick Motorsports engines.

Defending Quicken Loans 400 winner, Greg Biffle, failed to advance to the final round, qualifying eighteenth.

Forty-four cars attempted the make the starting field, meaning one car would fail to qualify. Ryan Truex’s first-round lap speed was not able to advance him into the starting field.

Quicken Loans 400 Starting Lineup 

1: Kevin Harvick

2: Jeff Gordon

3: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

4: Aric Almirola

5: Paul Menard

6: Brad Keselowski

7: Jimmie Johnson

8: Kurt Busch

9: Joey Logano

10: Brian Vickers

11: Jamie McMurray

12: Kyle Larson

13: Kasey Kahne

14: Kyle Busch

15: Clint Bowyer

16: Martin Truex Jr.

17: Justin Allgaier

18: Greg Biffle

19: Austin Dillon

20: Marcos Ambrose

21: Matt Kenseth

22: Carl Edwards

23: Trevor Bayne

24: Ryan Newman

25: AJ Allmendinger

26: Tony Stewart

27: Danica Patrick

28: Juan Pablo Montoya

29: Denny Hamlin

30: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

31: Casey Mears

32: David Gilliland

33: David Ragan

35: Brett Moffitt

36: JJ Yeley

37: Michael Annett

38: Josh Wise

39: Landon Cassill

40: Reed Sorenson

41: Alex Bowman

42: Cole Whitt

43: Travis Kvapil

Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.