Kyle Busch dominates Charlotte truck race

May 16, 2014 No Comments

Rowdy CharlotteBrian Wiggins, Senior Writer 

Any time Kyle Busch straps into a Camping World truck, he’s a threat to win. And when he races a truck at Charlotte Motor Speedway, he’s virtually unbeatable.

Prior to Friday night’s North Carolina Education Lottery 200, Busch had won in five of his eight previous starts at Charlotte Motor Speedway in a truck.

Starting from the pole, Busch was the dominant force throughout the course of the 134-lap event, leading all but four laps.

While Busch was unchallenged throughout the majority of the race, the 200-mile event was far from tame as the caution flag flew nine times for a total of 47 laps.

As the race progressed, many of would-be challengers to Busch fell by the wayside. Among them; Ryan Blaney and Ron Hornaday Jr. who were caught up in separate incidents in the late stages of the race.

The final portion of the race was plague by caution flags, including one on the final lap in which Jeb Burton saw his No.13 Thor Sport Racing Toyota Tundra wrecked on the front stretch.

When the caution flag came out, it was Busch in the lead, giving him the win in Friday night’s North Carolina Education Lottery 200.

“It was a fun race for us, we certainly had a dominate piece,” Busch said in victory lane after the race. “We were just really, really strong especially on the long run.”

The win is the third of the 2014 season for Busch in the Truck Series and his 38th win overall in a truck.

“I’d beat them a little bit here and there, but it seemed like I didn’t lose as much in traffic,” Busch said about what led him to victory Friday night.

Rounding out the top-five finishers were; Matt Crafton, Brad Keselowski, John Wes Townley, and Timothy Peters.

By posting his second-straight second-place finish, Crafton holds an eleven-point lead in the championship standings over Peters.

The next stop for the Camping World Truck Series is Friday, May 30 at Dover International Speedway.

North Carolina Education Lottery 200 Unofficial Results 

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Matt Crafton
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. John Wes Townely
  5. Timothy Peters
  6. Johnny Sauter
  7. Austin Dillon
  8. Ben Kennedy
  9. German Quiroga
  10. Justin Lofton
  11. Joe Nemechek
  12. Joey Coulter
  13. Bryan Silas
  14. Jimmy Weller
  15. Jeb Burton
  16. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  17. Norm Benning
  18. TJ Bell
  19. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  20. Mason Mingus
  21. Jake Crum
  22. Ryan Blaney
  23. Brian Ickler
  24. Scott Riggs
  25. Talyer Malsam
  26. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  27. Ryan Ellis
  28. Tyler Young
  29. Justin Jennings
  30. Blake Koch
  31. Max Gresham
  32. Willie Allen
  33. Charles Lewandowski
Tags: , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.