Kyle Busch wins caution-filled Dover truck race

May 30, 2014 No Comments

Rowdy DoverBrian Wiggins, Seni0r Writer 

Whenever Kyle Busch straps into a Camping World Truck, he’s a threat to win.

If you’re into betting, you’d be wanting to take Busch over the field seemingly every time.

Prior to Friday’s race at Dover International Speedway, Busch had won three of the first four races on the season, including the most-recent race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. The one race he didn’t win, he didn’t race.

In the history of the Camping World Truck Series at Dover, Busch is the only driver to repeat as a winner at the track known as the “Monster Mile”.

Busch started from the pole, and jumped out to an early and distant lead on the rather inexperienced field.

The early portion of the race was filled with numerous caution flags, a trend that would continue throughout the course of the event.

One caution was seemingly the field’s best chance at beating Busch Friday evening. However, Busch still wasn’t that far from the lead as he restarted in third, but he was a bit conceded as to whether he’d make it back to the lead.

“These things are certainly a bit more are0-sensitive than last year’s trucks, they’re certainly a challenge to drive but they’re certainly fun to drive,” Busch said after the race.

Despite his concern, it didn’t take long for Busch to make his way back to the head of the pack, outlasting a late-race restart with 20 laps to go to win Friday’s Lucas Oil 200 at Dover International Speedway.

“Can’t say enough about everyone on this Kyle Busch Motorsports team,” Busch said in victory lane.

Busch led a race-high 150 of the 200 laps en route to his fifth-consecutive win in the series.

However, Busch will have to wait a while until he is able to capture another truck win as Erik Jones will pilot the No.51 Toyota in five of the next six races.

Series points leader, Matt Crafton, ran second to Busch most of the event. However, a flat right-front tire sent his No.88 Toyota hard into to the turn two wall, ending his day.

Timothy Peters took over the championship lead with Crafton’s issues.

Lucas Oil 200 Unofficial Results. 

  • Kyle Busch
  • Ryan Blaney
  • Johnny Sauter
  • Brandon Jones
  • Joey Coulter
  • John Hunter Nemechek
  • Ben Kennedy
  • Tyler Reddick
  • German Quiroga
  • Timothy Peters
  • Ron Hornaday Jr.
  • John Wes Townley
  • Scott Riggs
  • Cole Custer
  • TJ Bell
  • Darrell Wallace Jr.
  • Tyler Young
  • Jeb Burton
  • Justin Jennings
  • Jennifer Jo Cobb
  • Gray Gaulding
  • Ben Rhodes
  • Matt Crafton
  • Ryan Sieg
  • Bryan Silas
  • Mason Mingus
  • Brennan Newberyy
  • Norm Benning
  • Jake Crum
  • Jimmy Wheeler
  • Raymond Terzcak Jr.
  • Charles Lewandowski
  • Todd Peck
  • Ryan Ellis
  • Blake Koch
Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.