Kyle Busch Wins Pole for 2011 Sprint All-Star Race/Starting Lineup *UPDATED*

May 20, 2011 No Comments

Kyle Busch was the last to qualify on Friday for the Sprint All-Star race and edged Clint Bowyer to take over the top spot, earning him his second career Sprint All-Star race pole (Busch won the pole in 2008).

The unique qualifying format for the All-Star race consists of a two lap qualifying circuit, followed by a four-tire pit stop and a final lap around the 1.5 mile track.

Roush Fenway Racing teammates Greg Biffle and Carl Edwards will start third and fourth, respectively

“I tell you what, that’s the best car I’ve ever driven. These guys just keep amazing me, the race cars they bring to the race track,” said Biffle. “They’re just building me great cars and what can I say about the Ford power, Doug Yates and that whole engine shop. I’m just speechless with how much power that thing made.”

Mark Martin will start fifth in his 22nd career All-Star race. Stewart, Kahne, Montoya, McMurray and Newman round out the top 10.

18 cars qualified for the All-Star race. Positions 19 and 20 will be filled by the winner and runner-up from the Sprint Showdown and position 21 will be filled by the fan vote.

Here is the starting lineup for the Sprint All-Star race at Charlotte Motor Speedway (May 21st, 2011 9:00 PM EST Live on SPEED):
1. Kyle Busch
2. Clint Bowyer
3. Greg Biffle
4. Carl Edwards
5. Mark Martin
6. Tony Stewart
7. Kasey Kahne
8. Juan Pablo Montoya
9. Jamie McMurray
10. Ryan Newman
11. Jimmie Johnson
12. Jeff Gordon
13. Matt Kenseth
14. Kevin Harvick
15. Denny Hamlin
16. Kurt Busch
17. Regan Smith
18. David Reutimann
19. David Ragan (1st in Sprint Showdown)
20. Brad Keselowski (2nd in Sprint Showdown)
21. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Fan Vote Winner)

Tags: , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.