Larson wins first career Cup pole

August 1, 2014 No Comments

Bt-1HJ9IYAMPhkSBrian Wiggins, Senior Writer 

Kyle Larson’s impressive rookie campaign contented into Pocono Raceway friday afternoon by winning the pole for Sunday’s 400.

The No.42 Target Chevrolet turned a lap averaging 183.438 mph around the flat, two-mile triangle-shaped oval. His lap of record at 49.063 seconds is a new track record for Pocono Raceway in Sprint Cup competition.

This is only Larson’s second trip to the Pocono Raceway in the Sprint Cup Series, however in June, the rookie posted a fifth-place finish.

Joey Logano will start alongside Larson for Sunday’s race with Brad Keselowski, Kurt Busch and Jeff Gordon rounding out the top-five starters.

With forty-three cars attempting to make the forty-three car field, no drivers failed to qualify. 400 Starting Lineup 

1: Kyle Larson

2: Joey Logano

3: Brad Keselowski

4: Kurt Busch

5: Jeff Gordon

6: Kevin Harvick

7: Kyle Busch

8: Jamie McMuray

9: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

10: Danica Patrick

11: Austin Dillon

12: Kasey Kahne

13: Denny Hamlin

14: Clint Bowyer

15: Brian Vickers

16: Tony Stewart

17: Jimmie Johnson

18: Matt Kenseth

19: Martin Truex Jr.

20: AJ Allmendinger

21: Ryan Newman

22: Justin Allagier

23: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

24: Casey Mears

25: Greg Biffle

26: Carl Edwards

27: Marcos Ambrose

28: Aric Almirola

29: Paul Menard

30: David Gilliland

31: Josh Wise

32: Landon Cassill

33: Cole Whitt

34: Travis Kvapil

35: Reed Sorenson

36: Alex Bowman

37: Ryan Truex

38: Michael Annett

39: David Ragan

40: Dave Blaney

41: Joe Nemechek

42: Alex Kennedy

43: Johnny Sauter

Tags: , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.