Logano wins thriller at Richmond

April 27, 2014 No Comments

nascar_042614_loganovlIt didn’t appear as though Joey Logano was going to win Saturday night’s Toyota Owner’s 400 at Richmond International Raceway when the green flag flew for the final restart with just nine laps remaining. But that’s the way it played out.

With less than ten laps to go, Logano was in fourth as Matt Kenseth and Jeff Gordon looked as though they would be the two drivers battling for the win. But, when Logano’s teammate Brad Keselowski joined the battle at the front, the entire picture changed.

Keselowski made his way to the outside of Kenseth, shuffling Gordon back behind the two. Contact between the drivers ensued, allowing none other than Logano to close not the leaders.

When Keselowski and Kenseth made contact on the front stretch with less than five laps to go, it was all Logano needed to take the lead and claim the win in Saturday night’s Toyota Owners 400.

You know, any time you’re down to the end of the race there really is no patience.  It’s wide open,” Logano said after the race. 

Obviously I was able to see that in front of me and wanted to make sure I was close enough when something happened I was able to take advantage of it, and that’s what I was able to do.” 

Saturday night’s win was the second of the 2014 season for Logano, ensuring him a spot in the Chase for the Sprint Cup.

“This really secures you,” Logano said about his second win in terms of the playoff picture.  

Having a couple wins this early in the season and in two completely different racetracks make you very confident for the rest of the season.  At this point we really have nothing to lose, it’s all about going for wins and having fun out there and making sure we’re ready for when the Chase starts.” 

Toyota Owner’s 400 Unofficial Results 

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Jeff Gordon
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Brad Keselowski
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. AJ Allmendinger
  7. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Carl Edwards
  10. Martin Truex Jr.
  11. Kevin Harvick
  12. Brian Vickers
  13. Jamie McMurray
  14. Kasey Kahne
  15. Greg Biffle
  16. Kyle Larson
  17. Aric Almirola
  18. Marcos Ambrose
  19. Casey Mears
  20. David Gillliland
  21. Justin Allgaier
  22. Denny Hamlin
  23. Kurt Busch
  24. Paul Menard
  25. Tony Stewart
  26. Landon Cassill
  27. Austin Dillon
  28. Alex Bowman
  29. David Reutimann
  30. David Ragan
  31. Ryan Truex
  32. Jimmie Johnson
  33. Michael Annett
  34. Danica Patrick
  35. David Stremme
  36. Travis Kvapil
  37. Joe Nemechek
  38. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  39. Josh Wise
  40. JJ Yeley
  41. Cole Whitt
  42. Reed Sorenson
  43. Clint Bowyer
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.