Matt Kenseth Takes Trevor Bayne’s Car to Victory Lane in Saturday’s Top Gear 300/Complete Results

May 28, 2011 No Comments

Credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images for NASCAR

Matt Kenseth was the fill-in driver for Trevor Bayne and exceeded expectations on Saturday, earning Roush Fenway Racing their fifth Nationwide series win in 2011. Kenseth passed teammate, Carl Edwards on lap 198 of 200 and didn’t look back from there, stretching the lead to .763 seconds as he crossed the finish line.

This was the first victory for the No. 16 Ford Mustang and the last with a new driver. Bayne will be back in the driver’s seat next weekend at Chicagoland Speedway after being sidelined by an unknown illness.

Kyle Busch broke up the one-two-three finish for Roush Fenway Racing, forcing the Fastenal Ford fleet to settle for a one-two-four finish, with pole-sitter Ricky Stenhouse Jr. finishing just behind Busch.

Stenhouse Jr. was the highest finishing Nationwide points contender in Saturday’s Top Gear 300, closing the gap between him and Elliot Sadler by just one point. Reed Sorenson finished in fifth with Brad Keselowski, Steve Wallace, Brian Scott, Aric Almirola and Sadler rounding out the top ten.

Former F-1 champion, Kimi Raikkonen made his Nationwide debut on Saturday at Charlotte Motor Speedway, but it certainly didn’t end as planned. Raikkonen was forced to serve a pass through penalty during green flag pit stops, putting him one lap down. While back out on the track, Raikkonen slammed into a piece of debris (splitter) from Jeremy Clement’s car, bending his splitter and forcing him to return to pit road.

Raikkonen finished in 27th, four laps down.

Here are the complete results from Saturday’s Top Gear 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway:
1. Matt Kenseth
2. Carl Edwards
3. Kyle Busch
4. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
5. Reed Sorenson
6. Brad Keselowski
7. Steve Wallace
8. Brian Scott
9. Aric Almirola
10. Elliott Sadler
11. Joey Logano
12. Sam Hornish Jr.
13. Justin Allgaier
14. Michael Annett
15. Cole Whitt
16. Kevin Harvick
17. Josh Wise
18. Mike Bliss
19. Danny Efland
20. Kenny Wallace
21. Jason Leffler
22. Kasey Kahne
23. Timmy Hill
24. Morgan Shepherd
25. Mike Wallace
26. Jeremy Clements
27. Kimi Raikkonen
28. Eric McClure
29. Joe Nemechek
30. Derrike Cope
31. Jennifer Jo Cobb
32. Dennis Setzer
33. Kevin Lepage
34. Blake Koch
35. Jeffrey Earnhardt
36. Robert Richardson Jr.
37. John Jackson
38. Tim Andrews
39. Carl Long
40. Mike Harmon
41. David Green
42. Kelly Bires
43. Jeff Green

Tags: , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.