McMurray wins last-second Sonoma pole

June 21, 2014 No Comments

McmurrayBrian Wiggins, Senior Writer 

Jamie McMurray may be one of the most underrated road course drivers in the Sprint Cup Series.

Granted the driver of the No.1 Chevrolet for Chip Ganassi Racing has never won at either of the two road course, but each and every time NASCAR visits Sonoma, McMurray is a contender.

Saturday afternoon, McMurray won his third career pole at Sonoma Raceway and will start from the pole for Sunday’s Toyota SaveMart 350.

McMurray’s pole effort came in the closing minutes of the final round of knockout qualifying on the California road course, beating out provisional pole-sitter and California native, AJ Allmendinger for the pole.

Chip Ganassi Racing doesn’t just have McMurray to be proud of for their qualifying efforts on Saturday. McMurray’s rookie teammate, Kyle Larson, who had never turned a lap at Sonoma prior to this weekend, qualified his No.42 in third.

Throughout the session, there were some surprises.

Arguably the best road course racer in the Sprint Cup Series, Marcos Ambrose, failed to advance to the final round of qualifying. Amborse was only able to muster a lap worthy of twenty-third fastest.

Clint Bowyer, Jeff Gordon and Tony Stewart all have won at Sonoma in the past, but each failed to make the final round.

With forty-three cars attempting to fill the forty-three car field, no drivers failed to qualify.

Toyota SaveMart 350 Starting Lineup 

  1. Jamie McMurray
  2. AJ Allmendinger
  3. Kyle Larson
  4. Carl Edwards
  5. Kurt Busch
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Brian Vickers
  9. Paul Menard
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Danica Patrick
  12. Casey Mears
  13. Brad Keselowski
  14. Matt Kenseth
  15. Jeff Gordon
  16. Denny Hamlin
  17. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  18. Martin Truex Jr.
  19. Greg Biffle
  20. Kyle Busch
  21. Tony Stewart
  22. Jimmie Johnson
  23. Marcos Ambrose
  24. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  25. Clint Bowyer
  26. Austin Dillon
  27. David Gilliland
  28. Michael McDowell
  29. Aric Almirola
  30. Kasey Kahne
  31. David Ragan
  32. Cole Whitt
  33. Josh Wise
  34. Ryan Truex
  35. Justin Allgaier
  36. Alex Kennedy
  37. Timmy Hill
  38. Alex Bowman
  39. David Mayhew
  40. Reed Sorenson
  41. Boris Said
  42. Michael Annett
  43. Tommy Drissi
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.