Michigan International Speedway Race Results: ‘Happy’ Harvick Wins Second Straight Truck Race

August 20, 2011 1 Comment

Photo Credit: NASCAR Media Group

Kevin “Happy” Harvick outran Timothy Peters in a green-white-checkered finish at Michigan International Speedway, and with Nelson Piquet Jr. slamming the inside backstretch wall behind him, claimed his second straight NASCAR Camping World Truck Series victory in Saturday’s VFW 200.

Today’s victory was owner/driver Harvick’s second in four starts this season and the 11th of his career, pretty impressive.

Peters followed Harvick, as Miguel Paludo, James Buescher and David Starr rounded out the top-5.

A caution for debris on Lap 78  bunched the field for a restart on Lap 83, with Mark Martin in the lead. Martin battled briefly with Johnny Sauter but soon began to pull away, but that would soon change.

On Lap 86, Sauter spun within close proximity to Paludo and slapped the inside retaining wall on the backstretch. Martin led the field to a restart on Lap 89, but the race stayed green only for a moment.

Parker Kligerman’s Dodge broke loose in close-quarter racing with Martin, clipping the rear of Martin’s Chevrolet and sent the race leader spinning. NASCAR Camping World Truck Series points leader Austin Dillon T-boned Kligerman’s truck, while pole-sitter Matt Crafton’s Chevy crashed into Martin, sending the defenseless veteran spinning for a second time.

The trucks of Dillon and Kligerman were destroyed. Dillon, who was hoping to make some repairs before the end said his motor just “gave out” while bringing his injured truck down pit road. Sauter, who trailed Dillon by one point in the standings entering the race, worked his way through the wreck unscathed. Harvick inherited the lead for a restart on Lap 96, but debris from Joey Coulter’s blown tire brought out the sixth caution almost immediately, with Harvick still in the top spot.

Unofficial Stats: 

Average Speed: 126.338 MPH
Time of Race: 1 Hrs, 36 Mins, 53 Secs.
Margin of Victory: Caution
Lead Changes: 13 among 10 drivers
Cautions: 7 for 22 laps
Attendance: 35,000

Unofficial Results: 

1. Kevin Harvick
2. Timothy Peters
3. Miguel Paludo
4. James Buescher
5. David Starr
6. Jason White
7. Ron Hornaday
8. Brendan Gaughan
9. Colin Braun
10. Cole Whitt
11. Todd Bodine
12. Ricky Carmichael
13. Johnny Sauter
14. Mark Martin
15. Justin Lofton
16. Nelson Piquet Jr.
17. Ryan Sieg
18. Joey Coulter
19. Max Papis
20. Norm Benning
21. Matt Crafton
22. Austin Dillon
23. Parker Kligerman
24. Dakoda Armstrong
25. Kyle Busch
26. Chris Lafferty
27. Butch Miller
28. Peyton Sellers
29. Casey Roderick
30. Mike Garvey
31. JJ Yeley
32. Mike Harmon
33. Chris Jones

One Comments to “Michigan International Speedway Race Results: ‘Happy’ Harvick Wins Second Straight Truck Race”
  1. SharonW says:

    While I congratulate Harvick on his win, he should be “happy”. I have a huge issue with Sprint Cup drivers running in the truck series. I agree there are arguements for both sides, Sprint Cup drivers give these newer younger drivers the type of competition they need to improve and excell in their driving skills, but the win doesnt have as much of an impact; he should win, he is a more experienced, competent driver. Since he is an owner, instead of driving, I’d like to see him give even more opportunities to these up and coming drivers to get out there and show their stuff on the track.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.