Michigan International Speedway Starting Lineup: Greg Biffle Wins Pole; Roush Fenway Sweeps Front Row for Pure Michigan 400

August 19, 2011 No Comments

Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

Many consider this a do-or-die weekend for Greg Biffle and his No. 16 team. Earning your first pole since 2008 is certainly a way to show you are ready to “do” and that is exactly what Biffle did on Friday.

Biffle, who is winless in 2011 and currently sits 13th in points, knocked Denny Hamlin off of the provisional pole with a lap of 190.345 mph. Two last ditch efforts from Ryan Newman and Matt Kenseth earned them each top five starting positions, but were not quick enough to earn the pole.

Biffle’s Roush Fenway Racing teammate was the only other driver to break the 190 mph mark and will start on the front row, making it an all Ford front-row in the Motor City. Current holder of the track qualifying record Newman qualified third.

Denny Hamlin, who is sporting the TRD engine this week for Joe Gibbs Racing, will start fourth with Mark Martin in fifth. Brad Keselowski, David Ragan, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Gordon and Jamie McMurray rounded out the top 10.

Kyle Busch and Joey Logano will continue to run JGR engine packages for the rest of the season, but may question the choice after seeing Hamlin qualify in the top five. Busch and Logano qualified 17th and 23rd, respectively.

Three drivers failed to qualify – Johnny Sauter (No. 7), Erik Darnell (No. 46) and T.J. Bell (No. 50).

Here is the starting lineup for Sunday’s Pure Michigan 400 at Michigan International Speedway:
1. Greg Biffle
2. Matt Kenseth
3. Ryan Newman
4. Denny Hamlin
5. Mark Martin
6. Brad Keselowski
7. David Ragan
8. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
9. Jeff Gordon
10. Jamie McMurray
11. Paul Menard
12. David Reutimann
13. Kurt Busch
14. Kasey Kahne
15. Martin Truex Jr.
16. Marcos Ambrose
17. Kyle Busch
18. Tony Stewart
19. Jimmie Johnson
20. Trevor Bayne
21. Casey Mears
22. Carl Edwards
23. Joey Logano
24. Kevin Harvick
25. Juan Pablo Montoya
26. Brian Vickers
27. Travis Kvapil
28. Bobby Labonte
29. A.J. Allmendinger
30. Regan Smith
31. J.J. Yeley
32. Jeff Burton
33. Landon Cassill
34. Dave Blaney
35. Clint Bowyer
36. David Stremme
37. Joe Nemechek
38. Andy Lally
39. David Gilliland
40. Todd Bodine
41. Tony Raines
42. Ken Schrader
43. Mike Skinner

Tags: , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.