Nashville Superspeedway: NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Lucas Deep Clean 200 Preview

July 22, 2011 No Comments

Jason Smith/Getty Images

Date: Friday, July 22nd, 2011
Time: 7:00 PM CST (8:00 PM EST)
Track: Nashville Superspeedway – 1.333 Mile Oval
Capacity: 50,000
Laps: 150 ; Miles: 200
Broadcast: TV – SPEED Channel ; Radio – MRN/Sirius XM NASCAR

Friday: High-94°F ; Low-73°F
40% Chance of Rain
Winds SSW at 5 to 10 mph

Courtesy of

Defending Race Winner: Todd Bodine
Defending Pole-Sitter: Todd Bodine
Race Record: Kyle Busch 136.459 mph (04/02/2010)
Qualifying Record: Erik Darnell 162.116 mph (08/12/2006)

The roar of the engines and outbursts from fans will take over Music City this weekend as the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and Nationwide Series will be rolling into town for the second and final time this season. The Lucas Deep Clean 200 will kick off the weekend on Friday night, as the truck regulars battle for the Gibson Les-Paul guitar designed by Sam Bass.

Johnny Sauter, currently 22 points ahead of Austin Dillon, rolls into Nashville with one win this season (Martinsville) but continues his search for his first victory at the 1.333 mile concrete oval. Sauter’s best finish at Nashville came in last season’s race, where he finished fifth.

Sauter’s teammate Matt Crafton, coming off last week’s win at Iowa, will be making his series leading 13th career start at Nashville. Crafton, currently fifth in points (-44 back from Sauter), has seven top 10′s with only one DNF in his 12 career starts.

Last year’s race-winner Todd Bodine is not on the entry list and will not be defending his Lucas Deep Clean 200 title. April’s race winner at Nashville Superspeedway Kyle Busch will also not be making a start this weekend.

Josh Richards will be filling in for Busch this weekend, making his first career start at Nashville in the No. 18 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota.

Despite Travis Kvapil’s rough season, he is certainly someone to watch this weekend. Kvapil has two top five finishes in seven starts, with a victory in 2007 (August 11th).

Here is the entry list for Friday’s Lucas Deep Clean 200:
1. #2 Elliott Sadler
2. #3 Austin Dillon
3. #4 Ricky Carmichael
4. #5 Travis Kvapil
5. #07 Johnny Chapman
6. #7 Miguel Paludo
7. #8 Nelson Piquet Jr.
8. #9 Max Papis
9. #10 Jennifer Jo Cobb
10. #13 Johnny Sauter
11. #17 Timothy Peters
12. #18 Josh Richards
13. #20 Johanna Long
14. #22 Joey Coulter
15. #23 Jason White
16. #29 Parker Kligerman
17. #31 James Buescher
18. #32 Blake Feese
19. #33 Ron Hornaday Jr.
20. #46 Justin Lofton
21. #57 Norm Benning
22. #60 Cole Whitt
23. #62 Brendan Gaughan
24. #165 Brent Raymer
25. #66 Justin Marks
26. #73 Clay Greenfield
27. #175 TBA
28. #178 B J McLeod
29. #81 David Starr
30. #88 Matt Crafton
31. #92 Clay Rogers

Tags: , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.