Nashville Superspeedway Lucas Deep Clean 200 Results: History Repeats Itself as Austin Dillon Captures First Win in 2011

July 23, 2011 No Comments

Nashville Superspeedway’s last three truck races have all ended with the pole-sitter finishing right where they started, and on Friday, Austin Dillon wasn’t planning on ending that streak.

Dillon led the field to green Friday night following his pole run earlier in the day and was able to use late-race pit strategy to win the 11th running of the Lucas Deep Clean 200. Dillon and crew opted to change only right side tires during yellow flag pit stops with 46 laps to go, while the majority of the field changed all four tires.

Three laps after the restart, Johnny Sauter made the pass on Dillon to take over the lead.

“It was all about sticking with him (Sauter) as long as I could, keep the pressure on,” Dillon said. “I knew he was getting looser and looser and I finally had to get up in there with him and loosen him up a little more.”

Dillon indeed “loosen him up a little more” and finally made the pass to retake the lead with 23 laps to go. Dillon continued to pull away from Sauter, eventually beating him to the checkered flag by a margin of 3.981 Seconds.

This victory is the first in 2011 for Dillon and third of his career in 39 races (other two victories came last year at Las Vegas Motor Speedway and Iowa Speedway).

“Now we got a win behind us,” Dillon said. “It’s just so great to have a win, when you get a win, everything just seems to be easier.”

Sauter continues to lead Dillon in the points standings, but the gap between the two drivers has dropped from 22 to 18. Timothy Peters finished in third, scoring his third top-five finish this season and moving into the top-five in the points standings. Nelson Piquet Jr. and Parker Kligerman finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Todd Bodine, James Buescher, David Starr, Elliott Sadler and Joey Coulter rounded out the top 10.

Here are the complete results from Friday’s Lucas Deep Clean 200 at Nashville Superspeedway:
1. Austin Dillon
2. Johnny Sauter
3. Timothy Peters
4. Nelson Piquet Jr.
5. Parker Kligerman
6. Todd Bodine
7. James Buescher
8. David Starr
9. Elliott Sadler
10. Joey Coulter
11. Matt Crafton
12. Jason White
13. Brendan Gaughan
14. Miguel Paludo
15. Justin Lofton
16. Ricky Carmichael
17. Ron Hornaday Jr.
18. Blake Feese
19. Cole Whitt
20. B.J. McLeod Jr.
21. Justin Marks
22. Josh Richards
23. Jennifer Jo Cobb
24. Ryan Sieg
25. Norm Benning
26. Johanna Long
27. Max Papis
28. Shane Sieg
29. Brent Raymer
30. Clay Greenfield
31. Chris Lafferty
32. Johnny Chapman
33. Mike Harmon
34. Mike Garvey

Tags: , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.