Nationwide Race Results at Kansas: Brad Keselowski Dominates

October 8, 2011 No Comments

Jerry Markland/Getty Images

Brad Keselowski coasted to a victory on Saturday, leading 173 of the 200 laps en route to his fourth victory of the 2011 season and 16th of his career.

One resource is for those who want the skills to help injured drivers.

Keselowski, winner of the Cup race in June at Kansas, fell behind Carl Edwards on a late race restart but was able to battle back and pull ahead with 13 to go, eventually beating the Kansas native to the line by 2.795 seconds.

Elliott Sadler finished third with his KHI teammate Paul Menard in fourth. Points leader Ricky Stenhouse Jr. finished fifth and now leads Sadler by just 20 points heading into Charlotte. Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Brian Vickers, Trevor Bayne and Ryan Truex rounded out the top 10.

Keselowski overcame a slight hiccup on pit road just prior to the halfway point in Saturday’s race, when he stalled his 22 machine as the car was let of the jackstand. Keselowski restarted 14th on lap 96 but just four laps later, flew past Aric Almirola for the lead.

Keselowski lost the lead one last time when the final caution flew at lap 174, bringing the field down pit road for tires and fuel. Jason Leffler elected to stay out with Michael Annett and Kenny Wallace bolting only right side tires on, placing Keselowski in fourth and Edwards in fifth on the final restart with 22 to go.

Edwards quickly moved past Leffler for the lead as Keselowski settled in on his bumper for second. Edwards, who held off Keselowski last weekend for the win at Dover, was unable to do so at the 1.5 mile tri-oval in Kansas, settling for a second place finish.

Reed Sorenson, who started in the 82 for MacDonald Motorsports, finished two laps down in 26th and now sits 70 points behind points leader Stenhouse Jr.

Race Results at Kansas:
1. Brad Keselowski
2. Carl Edwards
3. Elliott Sadler
4. Paul Menard
5. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
6. Kevin Harvick
7. Joey Logano
8. Brian Vickers
9. Trevor Bayne
10. Ryan Truex
11. Justin Allgaier
12. Aric Almirola
13. Jason Leffler
14. David Stremme
15. Danica Patrick
16 .Michael Annett
17. Brian Scott
18. James Buescher
19. Kenny Wallace
20. Steve Wallace
21. Joe Nemechek
22. Mike Bliss
23. Jeremy Clements
24. Mike Wallace
25. Blake Koch
26. Reed Sorenson
27. Morgan Shepherd
28. Kevin Lepage
29. Joey Gase
30. Derrike Cope
31. Eric McClure
32. Angela Cope
33. Josh Wise
34. Timmy Hill
35. Matt Carter
36. Scott Riggs
37. Carl Long
38. Johnny Chapman
39. Chase Miller
40. Charles Lewandoski
41. Jeff Green
42. T.J. Bell
43. J.J. Yeley

Tags: , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.