Nationwide Series at Kansas Speedway: Kansas Lottery 300 Preview


Jerry Markland/Getty Images

Date: Saturday, October 8th, 2011
Time: 3:30 PM ET
Location: Kansas Speedway
Track: 1.5 miles
· Banking/Corners: 15 degrees
· Banking/Frontstretch: 10.4 degrees
· Banking/Backstretch: 5 degrees
· Frontstretch: 2,685 feet
· Backstretch: 2,207 feet
Distance: 200 Laps/300 Miles
Broadcast: TV – ESPN 2
Radio: MRN, Sirius XM Ch. 90


High: 87°F – Low: 61°F
Start Time: 85°F
Chance of Rain: 20%
Wind: From S at 22 mph


Race Record: Jeff Green 129.125mph (09/29/2001)
Qualifying Record: Martin Truex Jr 178.938mph (10/08/2005)

Defending Race Winner: Joey Logano
Defending Pole Winner: Joey Logano


NASCAR’s Nationwide Series rolls into Kansas Speedway, fresh off the stunning news from Tuesday, when Turner Motorsports announced the firing of Reed Sorenson, effective immediately. Sorenson sits third in the championship race, 49 points behind leader Ricky Stenhouse Jr. No clear reason have been given for the firing of the championship contender nor has there been any word if Sorenson will drive this weekend for a different team.

What we do know though, is the that Brian Vickers will pilot the No. 32 for Turner Motorsports this weekend (and next weekend at Charlotte), joining Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Paul Menard and Carl Edwards as the Cup regulars doing double duty.

Logano will make his third straight start in the No. 18 JGR Toyota as Joe Gibbs attempts to win his fourth consecutive Nationwide owner’s championship. Despite two straight finishes outside of the top 10 – 19th at Chicagoland and 13th at Dover – Logano will be a favorite in Saturday’s race. Logano has won the past two Nationwide races at Kansas with his only other start coming in 2008, where he finished ninth. Is that not clear evidence that Logano is the driver to beat? Well how about the four year streak JGR is riding heading into Saturday, including the two past wins by Logano, Denny Hamlin’s win in 2008 and Kyle Busch’s win in 2007.

Chasing the No. 18 team for the owner’s title is the No. 60 Roush Fenway Racing team led by Edwards. Edwards, fresh off a dominant victory at Dover, has cut the points deficit to just 13. How does Edwards fare at Kansas? Well, not so good. Edwards remains win-less at the 1.5 mile track in both the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series. In six career races at Kansas in the Nationwide series, Edwards averages a finish of 16.000 with only one top five – a fourth place finish in 2008.

With Sorenson dropping out of the points race, the race to the championship shifts to a head-to-head battle between points leader Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Elliott Sadler. Both drivers only have one career start at Kansas in the Nationwide Series, with Stenhouse faring much better than his elder. Stenhouse, who holds a 22 point lead over Sadler led five laps en route to a sixth place finish last year. Sadler’s only start came in 2005 where he was caught up in a wreck on lap five, relegating him to a 42nd place finish.

Entry List
1. #01 Mike Wallace
2. #2 Elliott Sadler
3. #03 Scott Riggs
4. #04 Danny O’Quinn Jr.
5. #4 Kevin Harvick
6. #6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
7. #7 Danica Patrick
8. #09 Kenny Wallace
9. #10 TBA
10. #11 Brian Scott
11. #13 Jennifer Jo Cobb
12. #14 Eric McClure
13. #15 Timmy Hill
14. #16 Trevor Bayne
15. #18 Joey Logano
16. #19 Mike Bliss
17. #20 Ryan Truex
18. #22 Brad Keselowski
19. #23 Angela Cope
20. #27 J.J. Yeley
21. #28 Derrike Cope
22. #30 James Buescher
23. #31 Justin Allgaier
24. #32 Brian Vickers
25. #33 Paul Menard
26. #38 Jason Leffler
27. #39 Joey Gase
28. #40 Josh Wise
29. #41 Johnny Chapman
30. #42 Tim Andrews
31. #44 Jeff Green
32. #46 Chase Miller
33. #47 Charles Lewandoski
34. #48 Dennis Setzer
35. #49 Mark Green
36. #50 T.J. Bell
37. #51 Jeremy Clements
38. #52 Kevin Lepage
39. #60 Carl Edwards
40. #62 Michael Annett
41. #66 Steve Wallace
42. #68 Jeremy Petty
43. #70 David Stremme
44. #71 Matthew Carter
45. #74 Mike Harmon
46. #75 Carl Long
47. #81 Blake Koch
48. #82 Scott Wimmer
49. #87 Joe Nemechek
50. #88 Aric Almirola
51. #89 Morgan Shepherd

Leave a Reply