NCWTS: Harvick takes Dover pole position and the track record

June 1, 2012 No Comments

Credit: Kevin Harvick's Facebook page

For the second time this season, Kevin Harvick will start a NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race from the pole position after winning the pole for Friday’s Lucas Oil 200 at Dover International Speedway.

Harvick, who won his first pole of the season back at Martinsville Speedway in April, took the pole after being the last of 35 trucks to take time in Friday morning’s qualifying session.

After his Richard Childress Racing teammate Joey Coulter went to the provisional pole, Harvick put down his lap of 158.235 mph to take both the pole and the Dover track record in the Truck Series.

The pole position gives Harvick and his No.2 team the first choice of pit stalls for a race that in the past has proved that track position is ultimately key.

“Track position is going to be important obviously,” said Harvick after posing for pictures. “To get the first pit stall and be on the front row is something that we knew we wanted to be in control of the race and not deal with as much traffic.”

Harvick winning the pole in the Truck Series has proved something bad for the competition in the three previous times he’s started first.

In each of his races starting on the pole in the Truck Series, Harvick has won in each of starts from that positions including this past April at Martinsville Speedway where he lead a series record 248 of 250 laps.

With the trucks of Brennan Newberry and John King withdrawing from the entry list earlier in the week, no trucks were forced to miss the trace as 35 trucks will make up the starting field normally consisted of 36.

Coulter, Ron Hornaday Jr., Johnny Sauter, Cale Gale, Ty Dillon, Jeb Burton, Timothy Peters, Miguel Paludo, and Matt Crafton are the top-ten starters for the 200 lap event at Dover.

Starting Lineup for the Lucas Oil 200 at Dover 

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Joey Coulter
  3. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  4. Johnny Sauter
  5. Cale Gale
  6. Ty Dillon
  7. Jeb Burton
  8. Timothy Peters
  9. Miguel Paludo
  10. Matt Crafton
  11. Parker Kligerman
  12. Ross Chastain
  13. Todd Bodine
  14. Max Gresham
  15. James Buescher
  16. Justin Lofton
  17. Brian Scott
  18. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  19. Dakoda Armstrong
  20. Jason White
  21. John Wes Townley
  22. Ryan Sieg
  23. Bryan Silas
  24. David Starr
  25. Paulie Harraka
  26. Dennis Setzer
  27. Jeff Agnew
  28. Chris Jones
  29. Chris Fontaine
  30. Caleb Holman
  31. Wes Burton
  32. Johnny Chapman
  33. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  34. Mike Harmon
  35. Norm Benning
Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.