NCWTS: James Buescher Grabs Pole at Talladega-Starting Lineup.

October 21, 2011 No Comments

Photo Credit: Jason Smith/Getty Images for NASCAR

After an absolutely disastrous day last weekend in Las Vegas, James Buescher and his No. 31 Turner Motorsports came to the Talladega Superspeedway got their weekend off to a great start by winning the pole for Saturday’s Coca-Cola 250. With the fast lap of 177.676 mph, Buescher was the only driver to go under the 54 second ‘bracket’

It’s the  second career pole for Buescher who now sits third in the championship standings after a crash early on in last weekends event.

Johanna Long was trying to make history in Friday’s qualifying session in the 16 years of  NASCAR Camping World Truck Series competition. Long was attempting to become the first female to ever sit on the top spot at the end of a qualifying session in the series. While she was not able to hold onto the pole position,falling to the eighth position by the end. Long did however claim hold to the provisional pole for much of the session.

Series championship leader Austin Dillon continues to do exactly what he needs to do to take home his first title. Dillon put is Richard Childress Racing entry into the third starting position for Saturday’s event.

A rather disappointing qualifying session for the Thor Sport Racing team on a weekend where they will honor the late Dan Wheldon. Neither one of the three entries for the team was able to eclipse the top 10 in the session, with Matt Crafton being the highest ranking truck in the 12th position.

Neslon Piquet Jr.,Austin Dillon, Ricky Carmichael, Ron Hornaday Jr.,Mike Wallace,Joey Coulter, Johanna Long, Parker Kligerman and Cole Whitt wound out the top 10 for the 22nd Keystone Light Qualifying session of the season.

Starting Lineup for the Coca-Cola 250 powered by Fred’s

1.James Buescher

2. Nelson Piquet Jr.

3. Austin Dillon

4. Ricky Carmichael

5. Ron Hornaday Jr.

6. Mike Wallace

7. Joey Coulter

8. Johanna Long

9. Parker Kligerman

10. Cole Whitt

11. Blake Feese

12. Matt Crafton

13. David Starr

14. Chris Fontaine

15. Timothy Peters

16. Justin Lofton

17. Kyle Busch

18. Grant Enfinger

19. Jason White

20. Johnny Sauter

21. Patrick Sheltra

22. Josh Richards

23. Max Papis

24. Miguel Paludo

25. Todd Bodine

26. Ryan Sieg

27. Dakoda Armstrong

28. Jeffery Earnhardt

29. Brendan Gaughan

30. Ryan Hacket

31. Donnie Neuenberger

32. Wes Burton

33. JJ Yeley

34. Butch Miller

35. BJ McLeod

36. Jamie Dick

Did Not Qualify: Jennifer Jo Cobb, Norm Benning, Mike Harmon, Clay Greenfield(No time taken)



Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.