NCWTS: James Buescher picks up first Truck Series win at Kansas

April 21, 2012 No Comments

Credit: John Harrelson/Getty Images for NASCAR

12 races at the Kansas Speedway, 12 different winners in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series competition. Not to mention, three drivers picking up their first career win in trucks in the previous 11 races.

Well, make that four drivers after Saturday’s race at Kansas Speedway.

After finishing second four times in his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series career, James Buescher finally picked up his first victory by winning the SFP 250 at Kansas Speedway.

Buescher, who won the season opening Nationwide Series race at Daytona this year in dramatic fashion, dominated Saturday’s 250-mile race by leading 103 of the 167 laps on the day.

Taking four tires on the final exchange of green flag pit stops, Buescher was able to sail by the No.19 of Brad Keselowski with 10 laps to go on his way to the win.

“These Turner Motorsports trucks are pretty awesome,” said Buescher in victory lane. “Two in a row is saying something. Having our first win[Turner Motorsports in trucks] last weekend with Kasey[Kahne at Rockingham] and running second to him, we wanted to come here and win one for oursevles.”

Starting the race in the sixth position, Buescher was able to grab the race lead on lap 34 for the first time. Buescher then was forced to hold off the likes of Todd Bodine, Jason White, Parker Kligerman and others after three caution flags flew between laps 37 and 57.

“Michael Shelton[crew chief] stuck with me, this is the first race track we ran together in the trucks,” said Buescher. “We ran out of gas then, but we got some pretty good redemption today.”

With the win, Buescher closes the gap on points leader, Timothy Peters, heading into next month’s race at the Charlotte Motor Speedway—another 1.5-mile track, the second of 10 races at venues of that size on the 22 race schedule.

As if Turner Motorsports couldn’t have had a better weekend than they had at “The Rock”, today’s performances from drivers Nelson Piquet Jr., Miguel Paludo and Buescher may have topped it.

With all three of Tuner’s trucks finishing in the top-10 positions—two of them in the top-5 (Buescher and Piquet Jr.)—the team continues to build momentum heading into the middle portion of the season.

Joining Buescher and Piquet Jr. in the top-five were series points leader, Peters, and Keselowski.

Next up for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series: Friday, May 18 at Charlotte Motor Speedway for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200.

Results for the SFP 250 at Kansas Speedway 

  1. James Buescher
  2. Timothy Peters
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  5. Todd Bodine
  6. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  7. Justin Lofton
  8. Parker Kligerman
  9. Ty Dillon
  10. Miguel Paludo
  11. Cale Gale
  12. Matt Crafton
  13. John King
  14. Joey Coulter
  15. Dakoda Armstrong
  16. John Wes Townley
  17. Tim George Jr.
  18. Jason Leffler
  19. Jason White
  20. Chris Fontaine
  21. Bryan Silas
  22. Max Gresham
  23. Scott Stenzel
  24. Johnny Sauter
  25. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  26. Chris Cockrum
  27. Paulie Harraka
  28. Norm Benning
  29. Ryan Sieg
  30. Chad McCumbee
  31. David Starr
  32. Brennan Newberry
  33. Ross Dugger
  34. Ross Chastain
  35. Chris Jones
  36. Jeb Burton


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.