NCWTS: Kevin Harvick captures pole for Kroger 250 at Martinsville

March 31, 2012 No Comments

Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR

It might not be under the Kevin Harvick Incorporated banner anymore, but the No.2 truck still has the speed it always did as Kevin Harvick took the pole for today’s Kroger 250 at Martinsville Speedway.

After his lap of 95.665 mph, Harvick was able to grab the third pole of his NCWTS career, and first at the Martinsville Speedway.

The qualifying session started after a delay for a morning rain shower passed through the Martinsville area early Saturday morning.

With truck races at Martinsville having a history for being filled with pit strategy, the pole may be an aid to Harvick as his team will now have first choice of pit stall selection for today’s 250 lap race.

Starting to the outside of Harvick is rookie Ty Dillon. Dillon, who held the pole for a considerable amount of time, was only beaten by Harvick with four trucks remaining to take time.

Making his NCWTS debut, 19-year-old Jeb Burton will start from the seventh position in his No.27 Chevrolet. Jeb is the son of 2002 Daytona 500 winner,Ward Burton.

Rounding out the top-10 starting spots for today’s Kroger 250 are: Ty Dillon, Timothy Peters, Cale Gale, Ron Hornaday Jr., Justin Lofton, Jeb Burton Johnny Sauter, James Buescher, and Jeff Agnew.

BJ McLeod, Tyler Tanner, Norm Benning, Natalie Sather, Caleb Holman, Chris Fontaine, and Chris Lafferty were the drivers who failed to qualify for today’s race.

Starting Lineup for the Kroger 250 at Martinsville

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Ty Dillon
  3. Timothy Peters
  4. Cale Gale
  5. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  6. Justin Lofton
  7. Jeb Burton
  8. Johnny Sauter
  9. James Buescher
  10. Jeff Agnew
  11. Matt Crafton
  12. Jason Leffler
  13. Todd Bodine
  14. Miguel Paludo
  15. Parker Kligerman
  16. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  17. Ross Chastain
  18. Paulie Harraka
  19. Brennan Newberry
  20. JR Fitzpatrick
  21. Joey Coulter
  22. Jason White
  23. Rick Crawford
  24. Dusty Davis
  25. David Reutimann
  26. Max Gresham
  27. David Starr
  28. Ryan Sieg
  29. Clay Greenfield
  30. John Wes Townley
  31. Dakoda Armstrong
  32. Jake Crum
  33. John King
  34. Bryan Silas
  35. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  36. Chris Cockrum



Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.