NCWTS: Kroger 250 Preview- Martinsville Speedway

March 30, 2012 No Comments

John Harrelson/Getty Images for NASCAR


Date: Saturday — March 31, 2012

Time: 1 p.m. ET

Location: Martinsville Speedway

Distance: 250 laps/ 131.5 miles

Radio: MRN (Motor Racing Network) Sirius XM Channel 90


High-77°F  Low-44°F

Start Time Temperature: 77°F

End of Race Temperature: 74°F

Chance of Rain: (Mostly in the morning hours) 40%

Winds: From the West-Northwest at 6 mph. Gusts reaching upwards of 17 mph

Race Analysis and Notes: 

- Last year’s running of the Kroger 250 was won by Johnny Sauter. Satuer became the first NCWTS regular to win after the first two events of the 2011 season went to Michael Waltrip( Daytona) and Kyle Busch(Phoenix) respectively.

-The Martinsville Speedway has been a staple on the NCWTS schedule since the very birth of the series back in 1995. Although the race was only 150 laps, Joe Ruttman was credited with the honor of being the first driver to win at Martinsville in a truck in NASCAR competition. A year later, the race was extended to 250 laps.

-This race was moved from the fall to the spring in 1999.  Jimmy Hensley took the win in his Dodge, the first of three-straight wins for the manufacture at this track.

-Dennis Setzer is the all-time wins leader in NCWTS competition in the Martinsville spring race with three victories. His wins came in 2002, 2003, and 2008.

- This race has been extended by a green-white-checkered finish six times. (1996,1997,2004,2007,2008,2009)

-Only on one occasion has this race been rained out. That happened in 2009 when Kevin Harvick took home his first victory at Martinsville in a truck.

Past Winners of the Kroger 250: (1995-2011)

1995: Joe Ruttman

1996: Mike Skinner

1997: Rich Bickle

1998: Jay Sauter

1999: Jimmy Hensley

2000: Bobby Hamilton

2001: Scott Riggs

2002: Dennis Setzer

2003: Dennis Setzer

2004: Rick Crawford

2005: Bobby Labonte

2006: David Starr

2007: Mike Skinner

2008: Dennis Setzer

2009: Kevin Harvick

2010: Kevin Harvick

2011: Johnny Sauter

Driver Watch:

Contenders: Kevin Harvick, Johnny Sauter, Ron Hornaday Jr.,Timothy Peters

Avoid: Jason Leffler, Nelson Piquet Jr., Miguel Paludo, Dakoda Armstrong

Sleepers: Ty Dillon, Justin Lofton, Joey Coulter, Parker Kligerman, Cale Gale

Entry List for the 14th Kroger 250 

#2 Kevin Harvick/ TIDE/ Chevrolet

#3 Ty Dillon/ Bass Pro Shops-Tracker Boats/ Chevrolet

#5 Paulie Harraka/ No.5 MC10 Ford F-150/ Ford

#6 Justin Lofton/ Chevrolet

#7 John King/ Red Horse Racing/ Toyota

#07 Jake Crum/ Bandit Clippers/ Chevrolet

#8 TBA/ TBA/ Chevrolet

#08 Ross Chastain/ ASI Limited/ Toyota

#09 John Wes Townley/ TBA/ Toyota

#9 Ron Hornaday Jr./ TBA/ Chevrolet

#10 Jennifer Jo Cobb/ RAM

#11 Todd Bodine/ Red Horse Racing/ Toyota

#13 Johnny Sauter/ Hot Honeys-Curb Records/ Toyota

#14 Brennan Newberry/ Ironclad/ Chevrolet

#15 Dusty Davis/ Toyota

#17 Timothy Peters/ NTB Service Central/ Toyota

#18 Jason Leffler/ Dollar General/ Toyota

#22 Joey Coulter/ STEAK-UMM/ Chevrolet

#23 Jason White/ Ford

#24 Max Gresham/ Made In USA/ Chevrolet

#27 Jeb Burton/ State Water Heaters/ Chevrolet

#29 Parker Kligerman/ Cooper Standard/ RAM

#30 Nelson Piquet Jr./ Autotrac-Qualcomm/ Chevrolet

#31 James Buescher/ AccuDoc Solutions/ Chevrolet

#32 Miquel Paludo/ Duroline Brakes/ Chevrolet

#33 Cale Gale/ Rheem/ Chevrolet

#39 Ryan Sieg/ RSS Racing/ Chevrolet

#50 Natalie Sather/ TBA/ Chevrolet

#57 Norm Benning/ Lady Bug Cleaning/ Chevrolet

#60 JR Fitzpatrick/ TBA/ Chevrolet

#65 Tyler Tanner/ EF65 Handcleaner-Mittler Bros./ Ford

#68 Clay Greenfield/ @claygreenfield/ RAM

#70 Jeff Agnew/ TBA/ Chevrolet

#74 Mike Harmon/ Koma Unwind/ Chevrolet

#75 Caleb Holman/ Food Country USA/ Chevrolet

#81 David Starr/ ZACHRY/ Toyota

#84 Chris Fontaine/ Glenden Enterprises/ Toyota

#88 Matt Crafton/ Menard’s/ Toyota

#92 David Reutimann/ FleetHQ.COM -BTS TIRE -SMITH PAVING/ Chevrolet

#93 Chris Cockrum/ RSS Racing/ Chevrolet

#98 Dakoda Armstrong/ Toyota

#99 Bryan Silas/ Rockingham Speedway/ Ford

Tags: , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.