NCWTS: Kyle Busch Dominates In New Hampshire

September 24, 2011 No Comments

Credit: Todd Warshaw/Getty Images

It doesn’t matter if he’s racing for a championship or for a trophy, when Kyle Busch enters a race, you know he’s going to do anything he can in order to win. And winning is just what he did in Saturday’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series F.W. Webb 175 at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

After winning the pole earlier in the day, his competitors got the message that Busch had the truck to beat if they wanted to go to victory lane that afternoon. Once the race got under way, Busch rocketed off with the lead almost immediately. Setting a torrid pace around the “Magic Mile”, Busch began to lap trucks that are normally contenders within the first 30 laps of the 175 lap event.

But, it wasn’t all smooth for Busch. On the final exchange of pit stops he appeared to get a lucky break as race leader at the time, Joey Coulter, got caught speeding on pit road not once, but twice, killing his chances to pick up his first career win in the series. Those mistakes handed the lead back to Busch with under 20 laps remaining.

Last week’s winner, Austin Dillon, appeared that he had the only truck that could run with Busch, but to no avail as Dillon would bring his series points leading truck home in second.

Kevin Harvick, Ron Hornaday, Johnny Sauter and Matt Crafton rounded out the trucks on the lead lap.

With now only six races remaining on the schedule for the “tailgaters”, the points race gets even tighter as Dillon now holds a two point advantage over “Mr. Consistency” James Buescher and only seven back to third place Johnny Sauter. Peters, Hornaday and Crafton all remain in contention for the series crown.

F.W. Webb 175 Unofficial Race Results 

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Austin Dillon
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  5. Johnny Sauter
  6. Matt Crafton
  7. James Buescher
  8. Todd Bodine
  9. Timothy Peters
  10. Miguel Paludo
  11. Joey Coulter
  12. Brendan Gaughan
  13. Justin Lofton
  14. David Starr
  15. Cole Whitt
  16. German Quiroga
  17. Jason White
  18. Parker Kligerman
  19. Ricky Carmichael
  20. Max Papis
  21. Blake Feese
  22. Ryan Sieg
  23. Wes Burton
  24. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  25. Norm Benning
  26. AJ Russell
  27. Jeff Agnew
  28. J.J. Yeley
  29. Josh Wise
  30. Butch Miller
  31. Todd Peck
  32. Chris Jones
  33. Mike Harmon
  34. Bobby Santos
  35. Jennifer Jo Cobb
Tags: , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.