NCWTS: Lucas Oil 200 preview— Dover International Speedway

May 31, 2012 No Comments

Chris Trotman/Getty Images


Date: Friday, June 1, 2012

Location: Dover International Speedway

Time: 5 p.m. ET

Broadcast TV: SPEED with live coverage starting at 4:30 p.m. ET

Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)

Notes and Analysis: 

At this time last year, the two Thor Sport Racing drivers (Johnny Sauter and Matt Crafton) were both top-three in the standings heading into Dover International Speedway.

Heading into Dover this season couldn’t be more different for the two drivers with each outside the top-ten after five of the 22 races this season.

After the team switched from long-time supplier Chevrolet to Toyota for the 2012 season, many questioned the move seeing how Chevrolet placed four trucks in the top-five in final series standings.

Their struggles haven’t been from a lack of competitiveness, they’ve been more less from the infamous racing luck so far this season.

But like last year, the same driver is second in the point standings, Timothy Peters.

After his eighth place finish two weeks ago at Charlotte, Peters not only finished outside the top-ten for the first time in 2012 but also lost his points lead.

So far this season, Peters has four top-five finishes to go along with his five top-fives which is the most in each category in the Truck Series.

Speaking of the race at Charlotte Motor Speedway, it propelled race winner Justin Lofton to the top of the point standings for the first time in his NASCAR career.

After holding off the hard charging Brad Keselowski on old tires, Lofton was able to pull away on a late race restart to grab his first career NASCAR win and first for his Eddie Sharp Racing team.

Heading into Friday’s race at Dover, two non-series-regulars jump out as instant contenders for the win in the 200 lap race.

Both Brian Scott and Kevin Harvick are past winners of races at Dover, with Scott’s lone NASCAR win coming at Dover in 2009 driving in the Truck Series.

Harvick is a contender wherever his goes when racing in the Truck Series. After thoroughly dominating the race at Martinsville Speedway in April, Harvick looks to become the first repeat winner of the season in the Truck Series.

Truck Series regulars Todd Bodine, Joey Coulter, Cale Gale, Ron Hornaday Jr., Parker Kligerman, Justin Lofton, Timothy Peters among other will all be ones to watch during Friday’s race.

By the Numbers: Dover Edition 

  • 2: Kyle Busch leads the way with two career wins at Dover International Speedway.
  • 1: Kurt Busch is the only driver to win a race at Dover from the pole. He did that in the first race back in 2000.
  • 7: David Starr is the most consistent driver at Dover with  seven top-tens, the most of any driver.
  • 4: Both Dodge and Toyota have four wins at Dover, tied for the most of any manufacture.
  • 15th: The furthest back this race has been won from. Ron Hornaday did this in 2007.

Entry List for the Lucas Oil 200 

  • #2 Kevin Harvick (Kroger/Tide)
  • #3 Ty Dillon (Bass Pro Shops)
  • #5 Paulie Harraka (Wauters Motorsports/PIR)
  • #6 Justin Lofton (
  • #07 Chris Jones (Wear Your Gear/
  • #08 Ross Chastain (Georgia Watermelon Association)
  • #9 Ron Hornaday Jr. (Anderson’s Maple Syrup)
  • #09 John Wes Townley (Barberitos Southwestern Grille)
  • #10 Jennifer Jo Cobb (
  • #11 Todd Bodine (Red Horse Racing)
  • #13 Johnny Sauter (Hot Honey’s/Curb Records)
  • #17 Timothy Peters (Red Horse Racing)
  • #18 Brian Scott (Shore Lodge)
  • #22 Joey Coulter (Richard Childress Racing)
  • #23 Jason White (
  • #24 Max Gresham (Made in USA Brand)
  • #27 Jeb Burton (State Water Heaters)
  • #29 Parker Kligerman (Cooper Standard)
  • #30 Nelson Piquet Jr. (Qualcomm/Autotrac)
  • #31 James Buescher (Koike Aronson)
  • #32 Miguel Paludo (Duroline Brakes)
  • #33 Cale Gale (Rheem)
  • #39 Ryan Sieg (Pull-A-Part Used Auto Parts)
  • #57 Norm Benning (Norm Benning Racing)
  • #61 Wes Burton (TBD)
  • #70 Jeff Agnew (TBD)
  • #74 Mike Harmon (TBD)
  • #75 Caleb Holman (Food Country USA)
  • #81 David Starr (Build Your Future/Zachry)
  • #84 Chris Fontaine (Glenden Enterprises)
  • #88 Matt Crafton (Menard’s)
  • #93 Chris Cockrum (RSS Racing)
  • #98 Dakoda Armstrong (
  • #99 Bryan Silas (Rockingham Speedway)
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.