NCWTS: Miguel Paludo takes pole at Daytona

February 24, 2012 No Comments


There may not be any bigger pole in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series than the one in the season opener at Daytona International Speedway.

Each team, each driver is at their best at the world center of speed. With drivers with their new teams and colors, the spotlight shines on them each Friday before the Daytona 500.

Miguel Paludo, in his new home at Turner Motorsports in the No.32 Chevrolet, took pole for Friday night’s NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona International Speedway with a lap of 181.514 mph. It’s the first pole for Paludo, who spent the 2011 season with the Red Horse Racing team before moving to Turner during the off season.

“Man this is awesome,” said Paludo to SPEED. “I can’t say enough about these guys…my guys. This is unbelievable. First race of the season we got a pole in Daytona. This is a big accomplishment.”

The Turner Motorsports team will make NASCAR history tonight with the first all Brazilian front row in the sixty-plus year history of NASCAR racing. Teammate Nelson Piquet Jr. will start alongside Paludo in his No. 30 Chevrolet.

Like Paludo, Piquet Jr. also made the switch to Turner Motorsports during the off season to compete for the series championship.

Turner Motorsports will also take the third position in tonight’s lineup at Daytona with the third place driver in the 2011 series points, James Buescher in his No.31.

Ty Dillon, Brad Keselowski, Jason Leffler, Cale Gale, Jason White, Joey Coulter, and Todd Bodine rounded out the top ten in qualifying.

Failing to make tonight’s 250 miler were: Wheeler Boys, Norm Benning, Wes Burton, Jennifer Jo Cobb, Caleb Roark, Ryan Sieg, TJ Duke, and Chris Cockrum.

Starting Lineup for the NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona 

  1. Miguel Paludo
  2. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  3. James Buescher
  4. Ty Dillon
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Jason Leffler
  7. Cale Gale
  8. Jason White
  9. Joey Coulter
  10. Todd Bodine
  11. Brendan Gaughan
  12. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  13. Mike Skinner
  14. Paul Harraka
  15. Justin Lofton
  16. Dusty Davis
  17. David Starr
  18. Dakoda Armstrong
  19. Travis Kvapil
  20. Johnny Sauter
  21. Grant Enfinger
  22. Chris Fontaine
  23. John King
  24. Ross Chastain
  25. Ward Burton
  26. Clay Greenfield
  27. Timothy Peters
  28. Parker Kligerman
  29. Max Gresham
  30. Matt Crafton
  31. JR Fitzpatrick
  32. Bryan Silas
  33. Rick Crawford
  34. Jake Crum
  35. David Reutimann
  36. Derek White
Tags: , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.