NCWTS: NextEra Energy Resources 250 preview- Daytona International Speedway

February 22, 2012 No Comments

Chris Graythen/Getty Images for NASCAR

Event Information: 

Date: Friday, February 24th, 2012

Time: 7:00 p.m. ET

Location: Daytona International  Speedway

Race Distance: 100 laps/250 miles

Broadcast: TV- SPEED

Radio: MRN (Motor Racing Network) Sirius XM Channel 90


High: 84°F  — Low: 65°F

Start Time: °70F

End of Race: 65°F

Chance of Rain: 30%

Wind: From the West-Southwest at 17 mph

Driver Watch

Drivers to watch: Todd Bodine, James Buescher, Jason Leffler, Ron Hornaday Jr.
Drivers to avoid: David Starr, Dakoda Armstrong, John King
Possible Sleepers: Parker Kligerman, Ward Burton, Travis Kvapil

Analysis:  There’s no arguing that Todd Bodine has simply been the man when it comes to racing at Daytona in the trucks. Two times a winner in the 250, Bodine comes to Daytona with Red Horse Racing and will compete in the No.11 Toyota Tundra. The same team that won at DIS in 2010 with Timothy Peters none the less.

Anyone remember who absolutely dominated last years 250 at Daytona? That’s right. It was James Buescher who lead the opening 52 laps of the event before dropping back on an exchange of pit stops, and to then fall victim to the second big one while running in the top 10.

Seeing how it’s the first time that John King and Dakoda Armstrong will see Daytona’s high banks behind the wheel of a truck, don’t expect anything too stellar.

How many times would you call a former Daytona 500 champion and former truck champion “sleepers” for a race? Well, when they are either: A)Starting for a newly formed team, and B) Being called upon just over a week away from the event is when you get that type of talk. To the joy of many NASCAR fans, Ward Burton is back in NASCAR. This time in the truck series for newly formed Hillman Racing in the No.27 Chevrolet. As for Travis Kvapil, he’s filling in for Nationwide Series car owner(No.09 driven by Kenny Wallace) in his newly formed team after primary driver, John Wes Townley, was suspended due to a DUI.


 -The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series began racing at the Daytona International Speedway in 2000, a race that is more remembered for Geoffrey Bodine’s fiery crash rather than Mike Wallace’s thrilling victory in the season opening race. Since then, the Daytona 250 has become one of the favorites among fans and drivers alike. With close finishes seemingly being the normalcy, it’s no wonder that many have deemed the Daytona 250 as “one of the best races in all of Speedweeks”.

-The 2011 edition of the NextEra Energy Resources 250 ended with one of the all-time classic finishes in the series’ history. In a race marred by two late race crashes that wiped out over half of the starting field, Michael Waltirp and Elliot Salder were left racing for the win. On the final lap, Waltrip was tucked behind Salder’s rear bumper. As the duo headed for the tri oval, Waltrip peeled out of line. With his spoiler dangling and all, Waltrip beat Sadler to the line by 0.061 seconds. The win for Waltrip came on the tenth anniversary of his first Daytona 500 win as well as the day his friend and boss, Dale Earnhardt, died on the final lap of the 2001 Daytona 500.

-In the 11 races run at Daytona, there has only been one repeat winner with Todd Bodine taking the checkers in 2008 and 2009 respectively.

- On four occasions, the race has been extended into “overtime” with a green-white -checkered finish(2001,2003,2006,2011).

-Three times has this race been won from the pole position.

  • Joe Ruttman(2001)
  • Mark Martin(2006)
  • Jack Sprague(2007)

Previous winners of the event are:

  • 2000: Mike Wallace
  • 2001: Joe Ruttman
  • 2002: Robert Presley
  • 2003: Rick Crawford
  • 2004: Carl Edwards
  • 2005: Bobby Hamilton
  • 2006: Mark Martin
  • 2007: Jack Sprague
  • 2008: Todd Bodine
  • 2009: Todd Bodine
  • 2010: Timothy Peters
  • 2011: Michael Waltrip
Entry List for the NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona International Speedway 
  • #0 Jake Crum/ Bandit Chippers/ Dodge
  • #2 Brendan Gaughan/ South Point Hotel and Casino/ Chevrolet
  • #3 Ty Dillon/ Bass Pro Shops-Tracker Boats/ Chevrolet
  • #5 Paulie Harraka/ TBA/ Ford
  • #6 Justin Lofton/ Chevrolet
  • #07 Johnny Chapman/ TBA/ Chevrolet
  • #7 John King/ TBA/ Toyota
  • #08 Ross Chastain/ National Watermelon Association/ Toyota
  • #8 Mike Skinner/ Paytas Homes/ Chevrolet
  • #09 Travis Kvapil/ TBA/ Toyota
  • #9 Ron Hornaday Jr./ Anderson’s Maple Syrup/ Chevrolet
  • #10 Jennifer Jo Cobb/ Ford
  • #11 Todd Bodine/ Good Sam Club Roadside Assistance/ Toyota
  • #13 Johnny Sauter/ Curb Records-Hot Honey’s Peanuts/ Toyota
  • #15 Dusty Davis/ Thunderexhaust/ Toyota
  • #17 Timothy Peters/ Tire Kingdom-Service Central/ Toyota
  • #18 Jason Leffler/ Dollar General/ Toyota
  • #19 Brad Keselowski/ Twitter Followers/ Dodge
  • #22 Joey Coulter/ Mama Lucia Meatballs/ Chevrolet
  • #23 Jason White/ Chevrolet
  • #24 Max Gresham/ Made In U.S.A./ Chevrolet
  • #27 Ward Burton/ State Water Heaters/ Chevrolet
  • #28 Wes Burton/ FDNY Racing/ Chevrolet
  • #29 Parker Kligerman/ Cooper Standard/ Dodge
  • #30 Nelson Piquet Jr./ Qualcomm-Autotrac/ Chevrolet
  • #31 James Buescher/ AccuDoc Solutions/ Chevrolet
  • #32 Miguel Paludo/ Duroline Brakes & Components/ Chevrolet
  • #33 Cale Gale/ Rheem/ Chevrolet
  • #39 Ryan Sieg/ Pull-A-Part LLC/ Chevrolet
  • #57 Norm Benning/ TBA/ Chevrolet
  • #60 JR Fitzpatrick/ Equipment Express/ Chevrolet
  • #63 Caleb Roark/ Mittler Bros. & Machine Tool/ Ford
  • #68 Clay Greenfield/ Stanfill Foundation/ Dodge
  • #73 Rick Crawford/ Superseal-Trans Pecos Trucking/ Chevrolet
  • #74 Wheeler Boys/ IIP Group/ Chevrolet
  • #76 Derek White/ W.G.A/ Ford
  • #81 David Starr/ Zachary/ Toyota
  • #82 Gran Enfinger/ TBA/ Ford
  • #84 Chris Fontaine/ Glenden Enterprises/ Toyota
  • #88 Matt Crafton/ Menards-Ideal Door/ Toyota
  • #92 David Reutimann/ Tire/ Chevrolet
  • #93 Chris Cockrum/ Advanced Communications Group-Accu-Tech/ Chevrolet
  • #98 Dakoda Armstrong/ EverFI/ Toyota
  • #99 Bryan Silas/ Rockingham Speedway/ Ford



Tags: , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.