NCWTS: North Carolina Education Lottery 200 preview—Charlotte

May 17, 2012 No Comments

Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR


Date: Friday, May 18,2012

Location: Charlotte Motor Speedway— Concord,NC

Time: 8 p.m. ET

Broadcast: TV- SPEED with coverage starting at 7:30 p.m. ET

Radio: Performance Racing Network (PRN)/ Sirius XM Channel 90

Notes and Analysis: 

Four races down, 18 to go. Already the 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season has seemingly flown by. With four different winners in the opening four races, the series proves to be just as competitive as ever. Not to mention, all four of the races so far have been at tracks of different length.

As the series heads to the “hub” of NASCAR, both drivers and crews place extra pressure on themselves to perform in front of their family and friends in one of the biggest events on the schedule for the trucks.

Leading the points heading into Friday night’s North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte is Timothy Peters. Although he hasn’t won a race so far, Peters has shown consistency by placing in the top-five in each of the first four races.

Although Peters has been consistent, it hasn’t been enough to put a considerable margin over second place James Buescher. After picking up his first Truck Series win at the Kansas Speedway back in April, Buescher has cut Peters’ lead down to four points after placing in the top-five in three of the four races so far.

While the experience of Peters is leading the points, the youth of NASCAR and the Truck Series are right behind him.

Buescher, Justin Lofton, Ty Dillon, Nelson Piquet Jr., and Parker Kligerman have all shown both speed and consistency through the start of the season. Each driver has placed in the top-10 in at least two of the four races.

But so far, Buescher is the lone driver among that group to visit victory lane this season. Along with that, there’s been a wave of experience that has also visited the winner’s circle with Kevin Harvick and Kasey Kahne.

Speaking of experience, the past three winners at Charlotte have been won by some of the “veterans” of the sport (Ron Hornaday Jr. and Kyle Busch).

So, as Friday night’s race approaches it could come down to a battle of youth versus experience to decide the outcome of the fifth race of the season.

By the Numbers: 

  • 4- The number of wins by Kyle Busch at Charlotte, the most by any driver in the NCWTS at the track.
  • 20th- Kyle Busch won the 2006 running of this race starting in the 20th spot, the furthest back of any winner.
  • 3rd- Twice has this race been won from the third starting spot, Kyle Busch and Ron Hornaday were the drivers to accomplish this.
  • 6- Chevrolet’s six wins at CMS in trucks are the most of any manufacture.
  • 47- Last year’s race saw 47 of the 134 laps were run under caution, a race record.
  • 1- One driver has picked up their first career win in trucks at CMS. That was Matt Crafton in 2009.

Driver Watch: 

  • Contenders: Brad Keselowski, Nelson Piquet Jr., Jason Leffler, James Buescher
  • Sleepers: Parker Kligerman, Ty Dillon, Miguel Paludo, Cale Gale

Entry List for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200

  • #2 Brendan Gaughan (South Point)
  • #3 Ty Dillon (Bass Pro Shops/ Allstate)
  • #5 Paulie Harraka (TBA)
  • #6 Justin Lofton (
  • #07 Johnny Chapman (Wear Your Gear/
  • #7 John King (CONSOL Energy)
  • #08 Ross Chastain (Florida Watermelon Asc.)
  • #09 John Wes Townley (Toyota- Save in May)
  • #9 Ron Hornaday Jr. (TBA)
  • #10 Jennifer Jo Cobb (
  • #11 Todd Bodine (Toyota Care)
  • #13 Johnny Sauter (Hot Honey’s/Curb Records)
  • #14 Brennan Newberry (Ironclad Performance Wear)
  • #17 Timothy Peters (Red Horse Racing)
  • #18 Jason Leffler (Dollar General)
  • #19 Brad Keselowski (Cooper Standard)
  • #22 Joey Coulter (RCR)
  • #23 Jason White (JW
  • #24 Max Gresham (BugBand)
  • #27 Jeb Burton (State Water Heaters)
  • #28 Wes Burton (FDNY Racing)
  • #29 Parker Kligerman (Draw-Tie)
  • #30 Nelson Piquet Jr. (AlpineStars)
  • #31 James Buescher (Exide Batteries)
  • #32 Miguel Paludo (Duroline Brakes)
  • #33 Cale Gale (Rheem)
  • #38 TBA (RSS Racing)
  • #39 Ryan Sieg (S&W Services)
  • #57 Norm Benning (TBA)
  • #60 TBA (TBD)
  • #68 Clay Greenfield (@claygreenfield)
  • #70 Jeff Agnew (TBD)
  • #74 TBA (Koma Unwind)
  • #75 Caleb Holman (Food Country)
  • #81 David Starr (ZACHRY)
  • #84 Chris Fontaine (Glenden Enterprises)
  • #88 Matt Crafton (Menards)
  • #92 David Reutimann (
  • #93 Chris Cockrum (RSS Racing)
  • #98 Dakoda Armstrong (
  • #99 Bryan Silas (Rockingham Speedway)
Tags: , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.