NCWTS: SFP 250 Preview- Kansas Speedway

April 19, 2012 No Comments

Jerry Markland/Getty Images for NASCAR


Date: Saturday, April 21, 2012

Location: Kansas Speedway

Time: 2 p.m. ET

Distance: 167 laps/ 250 miles

Broadcast: TV-SPEED  Radio-Motor Racing Network (MRN)

Notes and Analysis: 

-The SFP 250 marks the fourth of 22 races on the 2012 schedule for the Camping World Truck Series. In the first three races, three different drivers have gone to victory lane.

-For the first time in 2012, the Truck Series visits a 1.5 mile track. This will be the first of __ stops made on tracks of this size during the season.

- Timothy Peters finds himself with a six point lead over second place, Justin Lofton, after a fifth place finish last Sunday at Rockingham. Red Horse Racing has lead the point standings after all three races this season. (John King after Daytona and Martinsville)

-Last Sunday at Rockinghan, Kasey Kahne came from the back of the pack to win the inaugural Good Sam Roadside Assistance 200. With the win, Kahne became the second Cup driver to win a race in NCWTS competition in 2012, and the third different winner in as many races.

-Clint Bowyer is the defending champion of this race. Bowyer lead 124 of the 167 laps on the day to take his first victory at the Kansas Speedway. Johnny Sauter, Todd Bodine, James Buescher and Joey Coulter rounded out the top-five.

-In 11 previous NCWTS races at the Kansas Speedway, there has been no repeat winner of any race. Drivers such as Ricky Hendrick, Jon Wood,Terry Cook, Mike Skinner, and Johnny Sauter are among the names of drivers who have won in NCWTS competition at Kansas.

By the Numbers-Kansas edition: 

1- The number of times this race has been won from the pole. (Ron Hornaday Jr. in 2008)

3- The most pole at the Kansas Speedway by one driver (Hornaday)

5- The number of wins by Chevrolet at Kansas, the most of any manufacture.

15- Degrees of banking in the turns at Kansas Speedway

16- The most lead changes in a Kansas NCWTS race (2010)

51- The record amount of caution laps at the track.

136- The most laps lead by an eventual race winner (Hornaday)

125.094 mph- The fastest average race speed in event history. Set by the late, Ricky Hendrick in 2001.

173.633 mph- Bill Lester’s qualifying effort in 2005, which is still to this date the track record for trucks at Kansas.

Driver Watch: 

Contenders:  Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton, Nelson Piquet Jr., Joey Coulter

Avoid: David Starr, Jason White, Tim George Jr.

Sleepers: Ty Dillon, Parker Kligerman, Timothy Peters, Miguel Paludo

Entry List for the SFP 250 

#2 Tim George Jr. /Applebee’s/ Chevrolet

#3 Ty Dillon/ Bass Pro Shops-Track Boats/ Chevrolet

#5 Paulie Harraka/ TBA/ Ford

#6 Justin Lofton/ Chevrolet

#7 John King/ CONSOL Energy/ Toyota

#07 Johnny Chapman/ TBA/ Toyota

#08 Ross Chastain/ Florida Watermelon Assoc./ Toyota

#9 Ron Hornaday Jr./ TBA/ Chevrolet

#09 John Wes Townley/ TBA/ Toyota

#10 Jennifer Jo Cobb/ Ford

#11 Todd Bodine/ Toyota/ Toyota

#12 Rus Dugger/ JPO Obsorbents/ Chevrolet

#13 Johnny Sauter/ Hot Honey’s-Curb Records/ Toyota

#14 Brennan Newberry/ Ironclad Performance Wear/ Chevrolet

#17 Timothy Peters/ Red Horse Racing/ Toyota

#18 Jason Leffler/ Dollar General/ Toyota

#19 Brad Keselowski/ Checkered Flag Foundation/ RAM

#22 Joey Coulter/ RCR/ Chevrolet

#23 Jason White/ Ford

#24 Max Gresham/ In USA Brand/ Chevrolet

#27 Jeb Burton/ State Water Heaters/ Chevrolet

#29 Parker Kligerman/ Reese Towpower/ RAM

#30 Nelson Piquet Jr./ Autotrac-Qualcomm/ Chevrolet

#31 James Buescher/ Accudoc Solution/ Chevrolet

#32 Miguel Paludo/ Duroline Brakes/ Chevrolet

#33 Cale Gale/ Rheem/ Chevrolet

#38 Dennis Setzer/ RSS Racing/ Chevrolet

#39 Ryan Sieg/ Pull A Part Used Auto Parts/ Chevrolet

#57 Norm Benning/ TBA/ Chevrolet

#60 Chad McCumbee/ TBD/ Chevrolet

#65 Scott Stenzel/ Making the Driver/ Ford

#74 Mike Harmon/ Koma Unwind/ Chevrolet

#81 David Starr/ ZACHRY/ Toyota

#84 Chris Fontaine/ Glenden Enterprises/ Toyota

#88 Matt Crafton/ Menards/ Toyota

#93 Chris Cockrum/ Advanced Communications Group/ Chevrolet

#98 Dakoda Armstrong/ Toyota

#99 Bryan Silas/ Rockingham Speedway/ Ford

Tags: , , , , , , , , Coverage

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.